Numerous mayors outside Boston cruise to reelection

Mayors Setti D. Warren of Newton, Carlo DeMaria of Everett, and Scott D. Galvin of Woburn cruised to reelection wins while Mayors Linda M. Balzotti of Brockton and Thatcher W. Kezer III of Amesbury were narrowly defeated in city elections outside of Boston on Tuesday.

In Cambridge, according to unofficial preliminary numbers, voters elected Dennis Benzan to the City Council, making him the first Latino to be elected to a seat on the council. Benzan won 1,258 number-one votes out of a total of 17,128 votes.

In Newton, Warren far outpaced Alderman Ted Hess-Mahan to earn a second four-year term, picking up 9,313 votes to 3,706 for Hess-Mahan.


“What I believe this vote says tonight is that our residents want this administration to continue the work that we started four years ago,” said Warren, 43, who watched the results come in with his family in his home before heading to Terry O’Reilly’s pub to celebrate with supporters.

Get This Week in Politics in your inbox:
A weekly recap of the top political stories from The Globe, sent right to your email.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

Warren captured the spotlight four years ago when he became Newton’s first African-American mayor. During the campaign, Warren emphasized his success in stabilizing the city’s finances, while Hess-Mahan, a former Warren supporter who campaigned early and hard for the mayor during the 2009 election, spent the campaign assailing his former ally’s leadership.

In Everett, DeMaria won his fourth term, defeating Alderman Robert Van Campen by 4,559 votes to 2,725. “I am pleased and humbled by the results of tonight’s election,” DeMaria said in an e-mailed statement. “Together, we have worked to make sure that the future of Everett is bright.”

The race generated extra interest because it came as Everett had thrown its support behind a proposal to bring a casino to the city. The election also claimed interest as the first under a new charter in which the mayoral term shifts to four years and the bicameral City Council is converted to a single body.

Galvin earned a third term in Woburn by trouncing John P. Flaherty, a local philanthropist, by 6,378 votes to 3,043.


The contest drew attention when the Globe reported in September that Galvin had avoided questions about his 2011 crash in a city-owned car after he had consumed alcohol, and that Flaherty had a criminal record and had allegedly threatened to kill a business partner. Galvin won handily in a three-way preliminary.

“I’m grateful to the voters and my supporters, particularly my inner campaign committee,’’ Galvin said. “They supported me through the long campaign months and stuck with me and worked hard to push me over the threshold.”

In Brockton, Balzotti’s bid for a third term fell short, as she was edged by School Committee member Bill Carpenter by 55 votes, 7,035 to 6,980. Balzotti, the city’s first female mayor, said she plans to seek a recount, observing, “I think I owe it to the people who worked so hard.”

“They ran a very negative campaign,” she said of her opponent’s camp, “and people are angry. They are angry at Washington, they’re angry at everyone. So I guess it was kind of an anti-incumbent mood out there and I think that swung the election.”

Carpenter dismissed the mayor’s assertion about his campaign. “We ran a grass-roots campaign — 90 percent of the people working on the campaign had never worked in a campaign in their lives,’’ he said Tuesday night. “We ran the most diverse campaign this city has ever seen and knocked off a two-term incumbent. The people of the city voted for change — the margin doesn’t matter.”


In Amesbury, Kezer, a four-term mayor, lost to Ken Gray, a tech executive, by eight votes, 2,088 to 2,080, according to figures from the mayor. Kezer said he planned to seek a recount.

“Eight votes is the difference that determines the direction of the community — that calls for a recount to validate the numbers,” Kezer said.

Mayor Judith Flanagan Kennedy of Lynn sailed to a second four-year term, defeating Councilor at-large Timothy Phelan by 9,258 votes to 6,403. Kennedy made headlines four years ago as Lynn’s first female mayor.

Across the state, voters headed to the polls to elect mayors, city councilors, school committee members, and other local officials in about 59 communities in addition to Boston.

In Beverly, Michael P. Cahill, former state representative, defeated City Councilor D. Wesley Slate Jr. to succeed retiring longtime Mayor William F. Scanlon Jr. Cahill, a former City Council president, had 5,752 votes to 4,563 for Slate, who had Scanlon’s endorsement.

“I feel great,” Cahill said. “The voters of Beverly made a decision tonight. They voted for an open, inclusive government. There is an incredible amount of talent in our community and people have the chance to shape the future of our city going forward. It’s exciting.”

Cambridge voters also ousted longtime city councilor Kenneth Reeves.

Mayors Donna D. Holaday of Newburyport, Carolyn Kirk of Gloucester, Kimberley L. Driscoll of Salem, and Stephen N. Zanni of Methuen all won handily to earn new terms.

In Gloucester, Kirk garnered 4,724 votes to 2,979 for Mac Bell, a former city councilor.

Driscoll coasted to a third four-year term in Salem, picking up 4,996 votes to 1,093 for Cedric Ashley, a political newcomer.

Zanni turned back a challenge in Methuen from three-term City Councilor Jennifer Kannan. Zanni picked up 4,967 votes to 3,683 for Kannan.

In Newburyport, Holaday picked up 3,384 votes to 2,796 for City Councilor Richard E. Sullivan Jr. in her bid for a third term.

In Holyoke, first-term Mayor Alex B. Morse, who made history two years ago when he was elected mayor at age 22, was reelected to a second term after beating political newcomer Jeffrey A. Stanek with 5,274 votes to Stanek’s 4,425, according to Morse’s campaign adviser. Mayor Michael J. McGlynn of Medford won his 14th two-year term, outpolling Anthony D’Antonio. McGlynn had 5,775 votes to 3,092 for D’Antonio, who also lost to McGlynn two years ago.

Mayor James J. Fiorentini of Haverhill was also reelected. A number of mayors, including Ted Bettencourt of Peabody, Joseph A. Curtatone of Somerville, Lisa A. Wong of Fitchburg, and Jon Mitchell of New Bedford, were running unopposed.

John Laidler can be reached at, and Evan Allen can be reached at