Tougher Maine drunk driving law set to go into effect

A law designed to crack down on the worst drunken driving violators in Maine goes into effect on Aug. 1. The law changes state statutes so felony drunk driving convictions are never cleared from a person’s record and can be used in sentencing for future offenses. The Bangor Daily News first reported about the law change. Currently laws say the convictions are expunged after 10 years and cannot be used in determining punishments for repeat offenders. A drunken driving offense becomes a felony when someone is seriously hurt or killed or when a driver is convicted of drunk driving for the third time in a 10-year period.