fb-pixel Skip to main content

Officers to be honored for response to Marathon bombings

Police officers from across the state who responded to the Boston Marathon bombings in 2012 will be awarded for their bravery this week.

Gov. Deval Patrick will present the 31st annual Trooper George L. Hanna Memorial Awards for Bravery at the Statehouse on Wednesday. The ceremony is held in honor of George Hanna, a trooper who was killed in the line of duty in 1983.

Patrick will present 11 awards to 25 police officers from Boston, Ashland, Danvers, Lynn, Pembroke, Watertown, Massachusetts State Police, MBTA Transit Police, and MIT Police.

MIT Officer Sean Collier, who was allegedly killed by the bombing suspects after the attack, will receive a posthumous award.


Follow Alyssa Edes on Twitter @alyssaedes.