fb-pixel Skip to main content

Names of jurors in Tsarnaev trial released

A courtroom sketch of Dzhokhar Tsarnaev. Art Lien

A federal judge on Friday released the names of the 12 jurors who sentenced Boston Marathon bomber Dzhokhar Tsarnaev to death last year.

US District Court Judge George A. O’Toole Jr. in August denied a request from The Boston Globe to release the jurors’ names because certain post-trial matters were still pending in US District Court in Boston. He disclosed the names on Friday because those matters have concluded.

The death penalty case is moving to the US Court of Appeals for the First Circuit, also in Boston, where Tsarnaev’s appeal will be heard at a later date.


The seven female jurors who decided his fate reside in Malden, Peabody, Franklin, Scituate, Boston, Osterville, and New Bedford. The five male jurors live in Marlborough, Dartmouth, Ipswich, Peabody, and Woburn.

Three jurors reached by phone on Friday declined to comment.

O’Toole also released the names of three female alternate jurors from Hingham, Peabody, and Haverhill, and three male alternates from Harwich, Pembroke, and Sandwich.

Tsarnaev, 22, was convicted last spring for his role in the April 15, 2013 bombings, which killed three people, including an 8-year-old Dorchester boy, and wounded more than 260. The jury sentenced him to death in May, and O’Toole formally imposed the penalty the following month.

Tsarnaev and his older brother, Tamerlan, also killed a Massachusetts Institute of Technology police officer while they were on the run from authorities. Tamerlan Tsarnaev was killed during a clash with police in Watertown days after the blasts.

Dzhokhar Tsarnaev is being held at a supermax federal prison in Florence, Colo., according to the Federal Bureau of Prisons website.

Milton J. Valencia and Patricia Wen of the Globe staff contributed to this report.
Travis Andersen
can be reached at travis.andersen@ globe.com. Follow him on Twitter @TAGlobe.