Next Score View the next score

    At Harvard, just 28 presidents in close to 400 years

    Since its beginnings in the 17th century, Harvard has had just 28 presidents. Its longest-serving president, Charles William Eliot, oversaw the university from 1869 to 1909. Drew Faust was the first female president. Here’s a look at who has run Harvard:

    Henry Dunster, 1640-1654

    Charles Chauncy: 1654-1672


    Leonard Hoar, 1672-1675

    Get Metro Headlines in your inbox:
    The 10 top local news stories from metro Boston and around New England delivered daily.
    Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

    Urian Oakes, 1675-1680 (acting president); 1680-1681

    John Rogers, 1682-1684

    Increase Mather, 1685-1686 (acting president); 1686-1692 (rector); 1692-1701 (president)

    John Leverett, 1708-1724


    Benjamin Wadsworth, 1725-1737

    Edward Holyoke, 1737-1769

    Samuel Locke, 1770-1773

    Samuel Langdon, 1774-1780

    Joseph Willard, 1781-1804


    Samuel Webber, 1806-1810

    John Thornton Kirkland, 1810-1828

    Josiah Quincy, 1829-1845

    Edward Everett, 1849-1853

    Jared Sparks, 1849-1853

    James Walker, 1853-1860

    Cornelius Conway Felton, 1860-1862

    Thomas Hill, 1862-1868

    Charles William Eliot, 1869-1909

    A. Lawrence Lowell, 1909-1933

    James Bryant Conant, 1933-1953

    Nathan Marsh Pusey, 1953-1971

    Derek Bok, 1971-1991; 2006-2007

    Neil Rudenstine, 1991-2001

    Lawrence Summers, 2001-2006

    Drew Gilpin Faust, 2007-present

    Felice Belman can be reached at