Inauguration day, Chelsea-style

The city will hold its inauguration ceremony tomorrow at 7 p.m. in the City Council chambers. Those elected to the 11 council seats in the Nov. 8 election will be sworn in. The winners of the nine School Committee seats in November were sworn in at the committee’s reorganizational meeting last Tuesday but will take ceremonial oaths at tomorrow’s ceremony. Also as part of the ceremony, the council will elect its officers for the coming year. The council is expected to select at-large member Leo Robinson as its president, District 8 Councilor Dan Cortell as its vice president, and District 7 Councilor-elect Clifford Cunningham as its delegate to the School Committee. The School Committee at its Jan. 3 meeting named District 4 member Lucia Colon as its chairwoman and District 5 member Lisa Lineweaver as its vice chairwoman. - John Laidler