Rail trail committee honored

The Danvers Rail Trail Advisory Committee, which oversees the Danvers Rail Trail, is one of 13 recipients of the 2012 awards presented by the Massachusetts chapter of the American Planning Association. The organization offers the awards each year to recognize innovative planning efforts. The awards are considered the state’s highest honor for planning professionals. This year’s recipients were honored at the annual awards and holiday luncheon that the state chapter of the American Planning Association held with the Massachusetts Association of Planning Directors on Dec. 14 in Cambridge. The committee was selected to receive the Citizen Planner Award, which honors a nonplanning professional who has made a distinguished contribution to planning. The committee includes the chairman, Charles Lincicum, and Paula Boyce, Laura Cilley, William Clark (the Board of Selectmen’s liaison), Dan Curtis. Lori Dupont, Matthew Duggan, Peter Matchak, Ron Ouimette, and William Ward. Mark M. Jones, the committee’s webmaster, was also included in the award. “I’m delighted to see the work of the committee honored by this award,” said Kate Day, the town’s senior planner, who provides staff assistance to the committee.