Community contributors to be honored by Chamber of Commerce


The Chamber of Commerce will honor Winthrop residents and businesses for their contributions to the community on Feb. 1 at the Hyatt Harborside at Logan Airport. Maria Flanagan, a history teacher and the mock trial team advisor at the high school, has been selected to receive the Educational Excellence award, and Jordan Corbett-Frank and Kelly Russo, both juniors at the high school, will be presented with the Youth Leadership award. Judie VanKooiman will be honored as the 2013 Chamber Member of the Year. The Visual Achievement Award will go to Chris Young and MSA Mortgage for their work renovating the Wadsworth Building. The Winthrop Rotary Club will receive the Community Service award, while Steve Calla, director of the Department of Public Works, will receive the Town Service award; and Jack Trainor will receive the Coach of the Year award. The Excellence in the Arts award will go to Joanne Hillman, longtime member of the Winthrop Cultural Council; the Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Diane Davis, a long time dance instructor; and Robert Pisani and his restaurant, Paesans, at Michael’s Mall, will receive the Business of the Year award.

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.
We hope you've enjoyed your free articles.
Continue reading by subscribing to for just 99¢.
 Already a member? Log in Home
Subscriber Log In

We hope you've enjoyed your 5 free articles'

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of