Contested races in town election

A race for two seats on the Board of Selectmen is one of three townwide contests on the ballot for the April 6 annual town election. The candidate field is set now that the Feb. 19 deadline to return nomination papers has passed. In the selectmen race, incumbent Robert C. Hogan is vying with Christopher E. Hartling and Virginia E. Mooney. Hogan is the town’s director of veterans services. Hartling is a Town Meeting member who also sits on the Council on Aging. Mooney is a longtime Town Meeting member and former selectwoman. There is a two-way race for a seat on the Recreation Commission, with incumbent Kristine E. Brown facing a challenge from James Mennitto. And First Constable William F. Pepicelli is opposed by Dennis C. Otis. Twelve other candidates are running unopposed. Among them is former state representative Charles A. Murphy, who is running for town moderator. The current moderator, Phillip Gallagher, is not seeking reelection. Others unopposed include School Committee members Christine M. Monaco and Thomas F. Murphy Jr. . Voters will also cast ballots to elect 48 Town Meeting members, 42 of them to serve regular three-year terms and six to complete unexpired terms for seats that have become vacant. Eight of the Town Meeting seats did not attract any ballot candidates.