Next Score View the next score


    Hanson becomes selectmen chairman

    Matthew J. Hanson has been unanimously elected chairman of the Board of Selectmen by his peers after being reelected to the board for another three-year term in the April 2 town election. Hanson was the top vote-getter, capturing 2,085 votes. Janet L. Askenburg collected 1,700 votes, besting a crowded field of challengers to fill the Board of Selectmen seat vacated by Jon Kurland, who decided not to seek reelection. In the only other contested race for a townwide office, Jeff C. Apostolakes won a seat as associate member on the Planning Board. Apostolakes got 1,961 votes, besting incumbent Nancy K. Araway, who received 1,449 votes. About 17 percent of the town’s 23,912 registered voters went to the polls. In all, 4,167 ballots were cast, the town clerk’s office reported.