Two new selectmen elected

Voters elected two new selectmen at last week’s annual town election. Lynnfield Recreation Commission chairman Tom Terranova Jr. bested incumbent chairman Robert MacKendrick by a 950-881 vote count for a three-year seat, while Finance Committee vice chairman Phil Crawford beat Tom Kennedy, 1,118-693, to fill the one-year unexpired term formerly held by the late Al Merritt. For School Committee, a write-in campaign by Elaine Gravante fell short, as voters reelected Susan Cleary (930 votes) and chairwoman Dorothy Presser (813 votes), with Gravante (667 votes) third. All other candidates ran unopposed. For library trustee, where there was just one candidate for two seats, the winners were Faith Honer-Coakley, with 1,341 votes, and Stanley Schantz, with 17. Schantz, who recently completed a three-year term as library trustee, ran a small write-in campaign when no other candidates came forward. His intention is to serve for one year and resign before next spring’s annual town election, according to library director Nancy Ryan. Eleven other people received at least one write-in vote. The voter turnout was 21 percent of Lynnfield’s 9,233 voters.