Next Score View the next score


    Strauss and Callahan fill seats after election

    Former selectman Matthew Strauss led a field of four candidates with 1,676 votes and John Callahan garnered 1,289 to win two open seats on the Board of Selectmen in Swampscott’s annual town election on April 30. Charles Patsios (730 votes) and Patryk Januszewski (472) finished third and fourth in the race to fill positions left vacant when board chairman Rich Malagrifa and David Van Dam opted not to run for reelection. For School Committee, where there were three candidates for two seats. Newcomers Amy O’Connor (1,440 votes) and Carin Marshall (1,341 votes) bested incumbent Jaren Landen (1,296 votes).