You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.


Five students accepted into Northern Essex scholars program

Continue reading below

Five Haverhill students have been accepted to the Presidential Scholars Program at Northern Essex Community College. Three are graduates of Haverhill High School: Shannon Corcoran, a lab science major; Stephanie Cordeiro, criminal justice; and Nicholas Pham, criminal justice. The others are graduates of Whittier Regional Technical High School: Courtney McLaughlin, early childhood education; and Kianacq Rivera, general studies/art. Now in its 14th year, the Presidential Scholars Program is designed to attract motivated high school students to the college. Students are selected based on their high school academic record and recommendations from high school guidance counselors and teachers. In all, 15 local 2013 high school graduates were accepted to the program this year. The other students were from Amesbury, Andover, Georgetown, Groveland, Lawrence, Methuen, and Salisbury. In addition to the honor of being named to this selective program, each student receives a $1,000 scholarship from the college and is paired with a Northern Essex administrator who serves as a mentor. To be eligible, students must have a minimum 2.5 grade point average in high school and be nominated by a high school guidance counselor, teacher, or principal. Each must also plan to earn an associate’s degree at Northern Essex before transferring to a four-year Massachusetts state college or university.

Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of