Oates remains as town clerk

Town Clerk Nancy Oates won re-election in last Saturday’s town election. Oates, who has held the clerk’s position for 30 years, received 459 votes to beat former assistant town clerk Susan Kelley, who received 378 votes. The three-year town clerk position was the only contested race on the ballot. Re-elected were Selectman Shawn Dahlen, Assessor James McNab, and School Committee member Mary Lou Buell, all for three-year terms. Kellie Bresnehan won an open, uncontested three-year seat on the School Committee. Town Moderator Friend Weiler was re-elected for a one-year term; Cynthia Ladd Fiortini and Brian Glennor won re-election for two-year seats on the Planning Board; and Lamont Healy and Laura Sullivan were re-elected library trustees. Bertram Walters won a five-year term and David O’Connell an open three-year term with the housing authority.