You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.

West Bridgewater

22 percent voted Tuesday

Continue reading below

Town Clerk Nancy Morrison said that 1,079, or 22 percent of eligible voters, turned out for the annual town election Tuesday, held at the same time as the primaries for the US Senate. The only contested race on the ballot was for town constable, with incumbents Bruce Holmquist, with 721 votes, and Walter Thayer Jr., with 488 votes, retaining their posts in the race against challenger Patrick Galligan, who fell short at 428 votes. Selectman Chairman Nancy Maloney was unopposed for re-election. Incumbent School Committee member Molly Smith was re-elected alongside newcomer William L. Flynn III. Also unopposed were incumbent Board of Health member Linda J. Simpson, incumbent Assessor Stephen W. McCarthy, incumbent library trustees Sona S. Hoisington and Jill M. Olivier and newcomer Maurice M. McCarthy, water commissioner Thomas P. Snell, incumbent Planning Board member James R. Noyes, and incumbent Housing Authority member Nancy L. Morrison.

Loading comments...
Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of