You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.


Volunteers will be honored

Continue reading below

Twenty-three volunteers from Plymouth County are slated to receive the 2013 President’s Volunteer Service Award at a Sept. 26 ceremony in Plymouth. The award honors Americans “who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.” The recipients will get a pin and a congratulatory letter from President Obama. This year’s honorees include Phyllis Plouffe Hancock, Dottie Slack, and Jose Roberto Andrade of Brockton; Constance J. Shaw and Clark Griffith of Carver; George W. Johnson of Duxbury; Nancy Hill of East Bridgewater; Marie Cook of Halifax; George Copeland and Lorraine Lentini of Hanson; Nancy Dezelan, Delia Ferreira, and Olly deMacedo of Kingston; Daniel C. Lee Jr. of Mattapoisett; Benjamin Brewster, Margie Burgess, John Gallant, Adam Hill, John B. MacKenzie, Constance E. Melahoures, Carl Pratt, and F. Steven Triffletti of Plymouth; and Arthur Davies of Braintree. For more information, call Mayflower RSVP (the Retired and Senior Volunteer Program for Plymouth County) at 508-746-7787 or visit

Loading comments...

Wake up with today's top stories.

Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of