School projects accepted, rejected

The Massachusetts School Building Authority received 201 funding requests in 2013, of which 141 were for “core” improvements, which involve more extensive repairs, renovations, additions, and new construction. Only 14 core projects were invited by the state to proceed in the funding eligiblity process.

Core projects in the south suburbs invited into the eligibility process:

Braintree: East Middle School; Carver: Carver Elementary School; Hanover: Sylvester Elementary School; Quincy: Ray E. Sterling Middle School; Stoughton: Stoughton High School

Projects in the south suburbs that were rejected:

Canton: Blue Hills Regional Vocational Technical High School; Dighton: Bristol County Agricultural School; Easton: Parkview Elementary School, Center School; Foxborough: Maybelle M. Burrell School; Holbrook: John F. Kennedy School, South Elementary School; Middleborough: Middleborough High School; Norwood: Dr. Philip O. Coakley Middle School; Stoughton: South Elementary School; Taunton: Bristol-Plymouth Vocational Technical High School; Walpole: Norfolk County Agricultural School; Boyden Elementary School; Weymouth: Maria Weston Chapman Middle School


SOURCE: Massachusetts School Building Authority