fb-pixel Skip to main content

Stoughton to vote on pot shops, local races

Marijuana buds for sale in a shop in Denver.AP

A proposed ban on recreational marijuana businesses and races for Board of Selectmen and School Committee are the key items on the ballot in Stoughton’s annual election Tuesday, April 4.

A question on the ballot asks whether the town should prohibit the sale of recreational marijuana in town, a local measure allowed under the voter-approved state ballot question legalizing recreational marijuana.

There are six candidates on the ballot for two selectmen’s seats, but one of them -- Pamela Lennon Carr -- has withdrawn from the race.

The active candidates are incumbent David J. Sousa, John Harman Semerjian, Richard C. Hill, Cynthia A. Walsh, and Michael T. Sullivan.


Hill is a former Finance Committee member, Walsh a former selectwoman, and Sullivan, a Town Meeting representative. Semerjian and Walsh are all active with the Friends of Stoughton Center and other local groups, and Semerjian is on the Community Events Committee.

Incumbent Joseph M. Mokrisky is not seeking reelection and instead running for town moderator.

Three candidates are contending for two School Committee seats: incumbent Mari-Kate Pina-Enokian, Sandra Groppi, and Erdem A. Ural, a former School Committee member. Incumbent Joaquin Soares is not seeking another term.

Town Moderator Howard Hansen faces two challengers: Mokrisky and Adam L. Dawkins, a Town Meeting representative.

There are no ballot candidates for a seat on the Redevelopment Authority and two seats on the Housing Authority.

Voters will also elect Town Meeting representatives.

John Laidler can be reached at john.laidler-co@globe.com.