Incumbents town councilors retain seats

Incumbent Town Council members in Weymouth kept their seats in Tuesday’s local election, but one member of the School Committee lost hers.

Diana Flemer was one of six candidates running for three positions on the School Committee and came in last with 2,242 votes.

Incumbents Lisa Belmarsh and Kathy Curran kept their seats on the committee -- with 3,541 and 3,367 votes, respectively -- and will be joined by Rebecca Ann Sherlock-Shangraw, who had 2,920 votes.


The other unsuccessful candidates were Andrea Honore, with 2,638 votes, and Matthew Eric Bryer, with 2,450.

Get Today's Headlines in your inbox:
The day's top stories delivered every morning
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

Seven candidates were vying for five at-large seats on the Town Council.

Incumbents Brian McDonald (3,768 votes), Michael Molisse (4,990), and Jane Hackett (4,835) retained their spots.

The other successful candidates were Frederick J. Happel Jr. (4,015) and Michael Murphy (3,211). Candidates Christopher Heffernan (2,925) and Chris Primiano (2,543) did not make the cut.

However, Murphy notified the town clerk that he was declining the position, which means that the next highest vote-getter, Heffernan, will get it.


District One Councilor Becky Haugh easily defeated challenger Wilson Judd Melon, 1,182 to 223. District Five Councilor Ed Harrington beat challenger Joe Bronske, 681 to 357.

Johanna Seltz can be reached at