You can now read 5 articles in a month for free on Read as much as you want anywhere and anytime for just 99¢.


Contests on Tuesday’s ballot

Continue reading below

Four candidates will vie for three School Committee seats, and a new member will be added to the Board of Selectmen in Tuesday’s annual election. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., when voters will also be able to cast ballots for party candidates in the special statewide primary for US Senate. With School Committee member Henry Warren choosing not to seek reelection, the race for the three seats on the ballot features incumbents Helen Charlupski and Susan Wolf Ditkoff, and challengers David Pollak, of Lancaster Terrace, and Laurence Onie, of Marshal Street. Advisory Committee member Neil Wishinsky is running unopposed for a three-year position on the Board of Selectmen; the seat was left vacant when Jesse Mermell stepped down in January to take a job in Governor Deval Patrick’s administration. Three incumbent library trustees — Michael A. Burstein, Jennifer Rees, and Judith A. Vanderkay — are being joined by Puja P. Mehta and Magdalene M. Moran in vying for four seats on the board. A number of precincts also have competitions for Town Meeting seats. Sample ballots have been posted on the town’s website, .

Loading comments...

Wake up with today's top stories.

Want each day's news headlines delivered fresh to your
inbox every morning? Just connect with us
in one of the following ways:
Please enter a valid email will never post anything without asking.
Privacy Policy
Subscriber Log In

You have reached the limit of 5 free articles in a month

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of