Selectmen name new chairman

The Board of Selectmen has a new chairman, with the panel holding its annual organizational session after the April 30 town election. Joseph Durant was named chairman in a 3-2 vote, with the board’s previous chairman, James Vereault, and Christopher Yates casting the no votes during Monday’s meeting. In unanimous decisions, Fred Lucy was selected as vice chairman, and James David Quinn, starting his first term on the board, was named clerk.