Next Score View the next score


    Voters back incumbents, barely

    Incumbents succeeded in retaining their positions in Tuesday’s annual election, although they were not the top choice among voters. As the only incumbent among four candidates vying for two three-year terms on the Board of Selectmen, Joseph F. Nolan was returned to his seat with 1,517 votes, but finished second behind former Finance Committee member Cherry C. Karlson, who received 1,562, according to results announced by the town clerk’s office. They outpaced Bonnie L. Gossels (1,412) and Argiro K. Shapiro (1,051). Residents also reelected Barbara J. Fletcher to the School Committee, with 1,699 votes, while newcomer Jeanne Downs garnered 1,831 ; Alexia S. Obar, the third candidate in the three-person race for two seats, received 1,289. In a special election to fill a one-year interim seat on the Board of Selectmen, Mary M. Antes bested Linda L. Segal, 1,550 to 1,340. The election drew 34 percent of Wayland’s registered voters, according to the results posted online at www.wayland.ma.us.