Dizzying array of media streams to cover election

NEW YORK — Americans have an array of alternatives for following election returns on Tuesday night. Television news divisions are throwing everything they have into the story, and second-screen options are abounding.

Virtually all of the media organizations covering the election promise a huge amount of information available online, from interactive maps that display state-by-state results to data from exit polls. It’s expected to be a big night for social media, and news organizations say they will monitor the conversations and have their own journalists actively participate.

Here’s a guide to the lineup:


 Diane Sawyer and George Stephanopoulos are ABC’s anchor team; Barbara Walters offers historical perspective, and Katie Couric monitors social media. A separate live stream, anchored by Dan Harris, will be shown on ABC and partner Yahoo’s websites.

Get Ground Game in your inbox:
Daily updates and analysis on national politics from James Pindell.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

 NBC’s Brian Williams will be joined by David Gregory and Savannah Guthrie. Anchor emeritus Tom Brokaw will talk about trends and history. Chuck Todd will fill the numbers role that had been handled by the late Tim Russert. NBC will live-stream its coverage on various platforms, including Facebook.

 Scott Pelley of CBS News will anchor, joined by Bob Schieffer, Norah O’Donnell, and John Dickerson. Byron Pitts monitors congressional races, and Anthony Mason analyzes exit poll data.

 CNN will have Wolf Blitzer and Anderson Cooper as anchors, with 10 analysts lined up to deliver opinions.

 Bret Baier and Megyn Kelly are coanchors for Fox News Channel’s coverage, with analysis from Chris Wallace and Brit Hume.


 Rachel Maddow is the star of MSNBC’s show, with the rest of the network’s prime-time team chiming in.

 PBS is offering online coverage throughout Election Day, switching to TV in the evening. Gwen Ifill and Judy Woodruff will be coanchors, with historians Michael Beschloss and Richard Norton Smith taking the big-picture approach.

 C-SPAN will take its minimalist approach to coverage on its two separate networks, offering results and victory and concession speeches from around the country.

 Former vice president Al Gore will lead Current’s coverage, which also prominently features live Twitter streams.

Associated Press