How a senator’s office is determined

Every two years, each of the 100 senators gets 24 hours to select an office, starting with the most senior member and ending with the most junior. T he Senate has a system of tie-breakers to determine seniority. In order of precedence:

1) Former senators returning to the body after a hiatus, with length of previous service acting as a further tiebreaker.


2) Those who served in the House, with length of service acting as a further tiebreaker.

3) Former presidents of the United States.

Get Ground Game in your inbox:
Daily updates and analysis on national politics from James Pindell.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

4) Former vice presidents.

5) Former members of the president’s Cabinet.

6) Former governors, with state population serving as a further tiebreaker.


7) Final ties are broken by the population of the senator’s state.

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.
We hope you've enjoyed your free articles.
Continue reading by subscribing to for just 99¢.
 Already a member? Log in Home
Subscriber Log In

We hope you've enjoyed your 5 free articles'

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of