More than 150 House members urge Trump to rescind Bannon appointment

Steve Bannon.


Steve Bannon.

More than 150 members of the House of Representatives have signed a letter urging President-elect Donald Trump to rescind his appointment of Stephen Bannon to a key White House post, a Rhode Island congressman announced Wednesday.

The 169 US representatives — all Democrats — included the entire delegations from both Rhode Island and Massachusetts.


Representative David Cicilline, who led the effort, said in a statement Wednesday that the appointment of Bannon “sends a disturbing message about what kind of president Donald Trump wants to be.”

The letter, first announced by Cicilline on Tuesday, asks President-elect Trump to rescind his appointment of Bannon as the White House chief strategist and senior counselor and also to “build a diverse White House staff who are committed to the core American values of inclusiveness, diversity and tolerance.”

Get Political Happy Hour in your inbox:
Your afternoon shot of politics, sent straight from the desk of Joshua Miller.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

The letter was sent to Trump Tower Wednesday, according to the statement.

See the full list of signers below:

David N. Cicilline (RI-1)

Alma Adams (NC-12)


Pete Aguilar (CA-31)

Karen Bass (CA-37)

Joyce Beatty (OH-3)

Xavier Becerra (CA-34)

Ami Bera (CA-7)

Donald Beyer (VA-8)

Sanford Bishop (GA-2)

Earl Blumenauer (OR-3)

Suzanne Bonamici (OR-1)

Madeleine Bordallo (Guam)

Brendan Boyle (PA-13)

Robert Brady (PA-1)

Julia Brownley (CA-26)

Cheri Bustos (IL-17)

G.K. Butterfield (NC-1)

Michael Capuano (MA-7)

Tony Cardenas (CA-29)

John Carney (DE-At large)

Andre Carson (IN-7)

Matt Cartwright (PA-17)

Kathy Castor (FL-14)

Joaquin Castro (TX-20)

Judy Chu (CA-27)

Katherine Clark (MA-5)

Yvette Clarke (NY-9)

William Lacy Clay (MO-1)

Emanuel Cleaver (MO-5)

James Clyburn (SC-6)

Steve Cohen (TN-9)

Gerald Connolly (VA-11)

John Conyers (MI-13)

Jim Cooper (TN-5)

Joe Courtney (CT-2)

Joseph Crowley (NY-14)

Elijah Cummings (MD-7)

Danny Davis (IL-7)

Susan Davis (CA-53)

Peter DeFazio (OR-4)

Diana DeGette (CO-1)

John Delaney (MD-6)

Rosa DeLauro (CT-3)

Suzan DelBene (WA-1)

Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11)

Ted Deutch (FL-21)

Debbie Dingell (MI-12)

Lloyd Doggett (TX-35)

Michael Doyle (PA-14)

Tammy Duckworth (IL-8)

Donna Edwards (MD-4)

Keith Ellison (MN-5)

Eliot Engel (NY-16)

Anna Eshoo (CA-18)

Elizabeth Esty (CT-5)

Dwight Evans (PA-2)

Sam Farr (CA-20)

Bill Foster (IL-11)

Lois Frankel (FL-22)

Marcia Fudge (OH-11)

Ruben Gallego (AZ-7)

John Garamendi (CA-3)

Gwen Graham (FL-2)

Al Green (TX-9)

Gene Green (TX-29)

Raul Grijalva (AZ-3)

Luis Gutierrez (IL-4)

Janice Hahn (CA-44)

Colleen Hanabusa (HI-1)

Alcee Hastings (FL-20)

Denny Heck (WA-10)

Brian Higgins (NY-26)

James Himes (CT-4)

Ruben Hinojosa (TX-15)

Michael Honda (CA-17)

Jared Huffman (CA-2)

Steve Israel (NY-3)

Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)

Hakeem Jeffries (NY-8)

Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)

Hank Johnson (GA-4)

Marcy Kaptur (OH-9)

William Keating (MA-9)

Robin Kelly (IL-2)

Joseph Kennedy (MA-4)

Dan Kildee (MI-5)

Derek Kilmer (WA-6)

Ron Kind (WI-3)

Ann McLane Kuster (NH-2)

James Langevin (RI-2)

Rick Larsen (WA-2)

John Larson (CT-1)

Brenda Lawrence (MI-14)

Barbara Lee (CA-13)

Sander Levin (MI-9)

John Lewis (GA-5)

Ted Lieu (CA-33)

Dave Loebsack (IA-2)

Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)

Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)

Nita Lowey (NY-17)

Ben Ray Lujan (NM-3)

Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1)

Stephen Lynch (MA-8)

Carolyn Maloney (NY-12)

Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18)

Doris Matsui (CA-6)

Betty McCollum (MN-4)

Jim McDermott (WA-7)

James McGovern (MA-2)

Jerry McNerney (CA-9)

Gregory Meeks (NY-5)

Grace Meng (NY-6)

Gwen Moore (WI-4)

Seth Moulton (MA-6)

Patrick Murphy (FL-18)

Jerrold Nadler (NY-10)

Grace Napolitano (CA-32)

Richard Neal (MA-1)

Richard Nolan (MN-8)

Donald Norcross (NJ-1)

Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)

Beto O’Rourke (TX-16)

Frank Pallone (NJ-6)

Bill Pascrell (NJ-9)

Donald Payne Jr. (NJ-10)

Ed Perlmutter (CO-7)

Scott Peters (CA-52)

Chellie Pingree (ME-1)

Mark Pocan (WI-2)

Jared Polis (CO-2)

David Price (NC-4)

Mike Quigley (IL-5)

Kathleen Rice (NY-4)

Cedric Richmond (LA-2)

Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40)

Raul Ruiz (CA-36)

Tim Ryan (OH-13)

Linda Sanchez (CA-38)

John Sarbanes (MD-3)

Jan Schakowsky (IL-9)

Adam Schiff (CA-28)

Kurt Schrader (OR-5)

Bobby Scott (VA-3)

Jose Serrano (NY-15)

Terri Sewell (AL-7)

Albio Sires (NJ-8)

Louise McIntosh Slaughter (NY-25)

Adam Smith (WA-9)

Jackie Speier (CA-14)

Eric Swalwell (CA-15)

Mark Takano (CA-41)

Bennie Thompson (MS-2)

Mike Thompson (CA-5)

Dina Titus (NV-1)

Paul Tonko (NY-20)

Norma Torres (CA-35)

Niki Tsongas (MA-3)

Chris Van Hollen (MD-8)

Juan Vargas (CA-51)

Marc Veasey (TX-33)

Nydia Velazquez (NY-7)

Timothy Walz (MN-1)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23)

Maxine Waters (CA-43)

Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)

Peter Welch (VT-At large)

Frederica Wilson (FL-24)

John Yarmuth (KY-3)

Christina Prignano can be reached at christina.prignano@globe.com. Follow her on Twitter @cprignano.

Correction: Due to incorrect information provided to the Globe, an earlier version of this story gave the incorrect name for Ann McLane Kuster.

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.
We hope you've enjoyed your free articles.
Continue reading by subscribing to Globe.com for just 99¢.
 Already a member? Log in Home
Subscriber Log In

We hope you've enjoyed your 5 free articles'

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of BostonGlobe.com
Marketing image of BostonGlobe.com