EDITORIAL

Boston rents dip a bit. Let’s sustain it.

Boston-02/13/13- The factory 63 micro-housing apartments on Melcher Street in Fort Point, South Boston. This is the 1st floor common area open to the public and residents with free wifi. Globe staff photo by John Tlumacki (business)

JOHN TLUMACKI / GLOBE FILE PHOTO

After nearly a decade of rising Boston rents, Mayor Walsh’s housing policies are beginning to pay off.

Opinion | António Guterres

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/26/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/a2e0720c082a4526a8302213bed0667d-41283d831191459db7c905d5dc5415c0-0.jpg UN peacekeepers are an investment in global peace, security, and prosperity

Peace on the ground depends on gruelingly hard work, every day, under difficult and dangerous conditions.

Opinion | Elizabeth Warren

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/26/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/34d358a828224136b4ceed4245d088c9-34d358a828224136b4ceed4245d088c9-0.jpg We owe our veterans quality education and good jobs

Education and training play a key role in easing the transition from military to civilian life.

Alex Beam

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/25/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Alex_Beam_150px%20(1)-3671.png How smart do we need our gadgets?

Intelligence is breaking out everywhere. But if this is smart, I’ll take stupid

Ideas | David Scharfenberg

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/25/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/squarextinct.jpg Extinction is a bummer. Let’s bring back the dead.

Some scientists want to revive the passenger pigeon and the woolly mammoth.

Ideas | Tom Emswiler

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/23/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/28taxes.jpg Ax the sales tax (also the income tax)

This dismal math presents an opportunity to revamp the way we generate revenue for the Commonwealth.

Opinion | Stephen Kinzer

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/23/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/U2.jpg My foreign policy mixtape

It’s possible to get a perspective on American foreign policy through rock bands.

Renée Graham

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/26/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/AftVVuEU-1045.jpg Bill Cosby, America’s abusive father

The values that Cliff Huxtable embodied were real, but the man who played him was a lie.

JEFF JACOBY

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/26/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/Jeff_Jacoby_150px-1046.jpg Trump aside, America was not a mistake

A New Yorker essayist asks: “Was the American Revolution such a good idea?” Was it ever.

Ideas | Sage Stossel

Honoring Memorial Day

Remembering the reason for this holiday weekend.

Ideas

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/25/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/50words0528.jpg Stories in 50 words from Boston Medical Center

The nursing staff of Boston Medical Center recently held a 50 Words writing competition. Here are two of the winning entries.

Brainiac

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2017/05/25/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/DubaiPolice.jpg Innovation of the week: RoboCop in Dubai

This RoboCop patrolled an upscale mall in its first outing.

Get the latest

From Globe Opinion

Letter

Don’t let Turkey export human rights abuse

“As a nation, we must not allow Turkey to export its abysmal human rights record to the United States.” — Herman Purutyan

Letter

Paying a fitting tribute on Memorial Day

“To my mind, this is . . . a day of solemn remembrances of those who made the supreme sacrifice in the name of freedom.” — George V. Hill Sr.

Letter

What are the ‘just’ wars?

“Since [WWII] the US ‘police actions’ and other military engagements have been costly political bumbling.” — Donald Novaks

Letters

Check North Korea with a Cold War strategy

“Chasing denuclearization is like chasing a unicorn. All the while, North Korea’s scientists make headway.” — Keith Tidman

From Globe Ideas

Opinion | Stephen Kinzer

My foreign policy mixtape

It’s possible to get a perspective on American foreign policy through rock bands.

Ideas | Tom Emswiler

Ax the sales tax (also the income tax)

This dismal math presents an opportunity to revamp the way we generate revenue for the Commonwealth.

What we’re saying on Twitter

Read our columnists

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2014/04/22/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/globe10-7635.jpg

Select the name of a staff or contributing columnist to learn more.