Editorial

Putin meeting caps disastrous Europe trip

U.S. President Donald Trump arrives at the airport in Helsinki, Finland, Sunday, July 15, 2018 on the eve of his meeting with Russian President Vladimir Putin. (AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais)

AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais

Monday’s scheduled meeting with President Vladimir Putin of Russia has caused worried speculation and may require a serious response from Congress and American allies.

Opinion | Robert DeLeo

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2018/05/03/BostonGlobe.com/Metro/Images/turner050318METRO05transgender153.jpg Vote yes for Mass. transgender rights

If we fail to uphold this law, we will have failed to live up to our basic principles.

Opinion | Margery Eagan

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2018/07/13/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/web-eagan.jpg Women share their abortion stories and stand up for their rights

Names attached to abortion stories remain rare, in no small part because of online attacks and political efforts to shame and degrade women.

Alex Beam

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2018/07/12/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/Alex_Beam_150px%20(1)-4546.png Danger! Summer is here

Get off the road and stay indoors until fall.

EDITORIAL

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2018/06/07/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/Walker_053118_city_12116x.jpg Pension punishments should fit the crime

A bill to provide a more thoughtful approach should be a priority in the waning days of the 2018 legislative session.

Ideas | Amy Crawford

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2018/07/13/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/horzanimals-1.jpg Why is history always about humans?

Humans are just one of many animals sharing the fate of a finite Earth, and what we do — and have done — to animals has broad implications for our future.

Ideas | David Scharfenberg

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2018/07/12/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/AP_988716215059.jpg Did humans drive this polar bear insane?

It took years for society to accept the importance of humans’ mental health. Are we ready to make the same leap for animals in zoos?

EDITORIAL

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2018/07/13/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/19ff5558-de99-4b31-bb71-9d6b4178c60d.jpg North Korea’s predictable bait-and-switch

A month after the US-North Korea summit, the Hermit Kingdom has reverted to frustrating form.

Ideas | David Scharfenberg

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2013/07/13/BostonGlobe.com/Obits/Images/jim%20buck%201.jpg Are we making our pets crazy, too?

Captivity is hard on exotic species, but what about dogs and cats? They’ve been bred for life with humans. But they also need to be themselves.

EDITORIAL

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2018/07/13/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/8fec2c71043e41f184691947f2c54062-8fec2c71043e41f184691947f2c54062-0.jpg Biotech revolution can serve the animal kingdom

Over the past decades, the horseshoe crab population off Cape Cod has dwindled at an alarming rate.

Brainiac

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2018/07/13/BostonGlobe.com/Ideas/Images/global-b250c68a-5e9f-11e8-9ee3-49d6d4814c4c.jpg Electoral impacts of robot workers

Oxford researchers found out how robot usage can influence how humans vote.

Brainiac

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2013/04/12/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/14pfdeadline.jpg Digestive cycles out of order

Working nights can really throw off your digestion.

Opinion | Christopher Weyant

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2018/07/13/BostonGlobe.com/EditorialOpinion/Images/sqweyant-4562.jpg President Goldilocks and the Russian bear

Tensions with Russia are high, but Donald Trump doesn’t seem concerned.

Get the latest

From Globe Opinion

Opinion | Margery Eagan

Women share their abortion stories and stand up for their rights

Names attached to abortion stories remain rare, in no small part because of online attacks and political efforts to shame and degrade women.

Alex Beam

Danger! Summer is here

Get off the road and stay indoors until fall.

Opinion | Robert DeLeo

Vote yes for Mass. transgender rights

If we fail to uphold this law, we will have failed to live up to our basic principles.

EDITORIAL

Pension punishments should fit the crime

A bill to provide a more thoughtful approach should be a priority in the waning days of the 2018 legislative session.

From Globe Ideas

Ideas | Amy Crawford

Why is history always about humans?

Humans are just one of many animals sharing the fate of a finite Earth, and what we do — and have done — to animals has broad implications for our future.

Ideas | Elisa Orzac Shoenberger

When a marriage ends, who gets the family pet?

The history of pets and the law has been contentious.

What we’re saying on Twitter

Read our columnists

//c.o0bg.com/rf/image_90x90/Boston/2011-2020/2014/04/22/BostonGlobe.com/Business/Images/globe10-7635.jpg

Select the name of a staff or contributing columnist to learn more.