Five Olympic gold medalists in US women’s rowing eight for London

Five of the rowers who won the gold medal at the 2008 Olympics will be in the US women’s eight for London, including Harvard alumna Caryn Davies and Elle Logan of Boothbay Harbor, Maine.

The Americans, who have won the last five world titles, also return Caroline Lind, Susan Francia, and Erin Cafaro, as well as coxswain Mary Whipple from the Beijing lineup that was the first to win a gold for the US at a non-boycotted Games. The first-timers are Crimson grad Esther Lofgren, Meghan Musnicki, and Taylor Ritzel, who were members of last year’s global boat.

Earning return tickets to the Games are Massachusetts natives Elliot Hovey of Manchester-by-the-Sea and Wes Piermarini of West Brookfield, who rowed in the men’s double four years ago but will join Peter Graves and Alex Osborne in the quad this time.


Three members of the women’s quad that won silver at last year’s world regatta - Adrienne Martelli, Megan Kalmoe, and Natalie Dell - will remain in that boat, which will include Kara Kohler from the gold-medal four.