Adrian Peterson’s MVP puts Vikings in exclusive club

Adrian Peterson won the MVP award on Feb. 2.

Jeff Haynes/REUTERS

Adrian Peterson won the MVP award on Feb. 2.

With Adrian Peterson being named NFL Most Valuable Player, the Vikings became the seventh franchise to have at least three players recognized as the league’s best player by the Associated Press.

A look at the teams with the most MVP winners:



HB Paul Hornung, 1961

FB Jim Taylor, 1962

Get Sports Headlines in your inbox:
The Globe's most recent sports headlines delivered to your inbox every morning.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

QB Bart Starr, 1966

QB Brett Favre, 1995, 96, 97

QB Aaron Rodgers, 2011

COLTS -- 4


QB Johnny Unitas, 1959, 64, 67

QB Earl Morrall, 1968

QB Bert Jones, 1976

QB Peyton Manning, 2003, 04, 08, 09


DT Alan Page, 1971

QB Fran Tarkenton, 1975

RB Adrian Peterson, 2012

RAMS -- 3

QB Roman Gabriel, 1969

QB Kurt Warner, 1999, 2001

RB Marshall Faulk, 2000

49ERS -- 3

QB John Brodie, 1970

QB Joe Montana, 1989, 90

QB Steve Young, 1992, 94


QB Ken Stabler, 1974

RB Marcus Allen, 1985

QB Rich Gannon, 2002


RB Larry Brown, 1972

K Mark Moseley, 1982

QB Joe Theismann, 1983

Loading comments...
Real journalists. Real journalism. Subscribe to The Boston Globe today.
We hope you've enjoyed your free articles.
Continue reading by subscribing to for just 99¢.
 Already a member? Log in Home
Subscriber Log In

We hope you've enjoyed your 5 free articles'

Stay informed with unlimited access to Boston’s trusted news source.

  • High-quality journalism from the region’s largest newsroom
  • Convenient access across all of your devices
  • Today’s Headlines daily newsletter
  • Subscriber-only access to exclusive offers, events, contests, eBooks, and more
  • Less than 25¢ a week
Marketing image of
Marketing image of