Three straight LCS appearances ... and counting

Jim Leyland led the Tigers to the ALCS in three straight seasons.
Matt Slocum/AP
Jim Leyland led the Tigers to the ALCS in three straight seasons.

The Tigers and Cardinals each appeared in their third consecutive league championship series, something that’s been done only 12 other times since baseball moved to divisional play in 1969.

The only three teams have done it more, with varying degrees of ultimate success:

Atlanta Braves: 8 straight, 1991-99

Advanced to World Series: 5


Won World Series: 1

Get Breaking Sports Alerts in your inbox:
Be the first to know the latest sports news as it happens.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

Notable: Tom Glavine’s eight one-hit innings in 1-0 win over Indians in Game 6 in 1995 clinched the Braves’ only title during their run.

Note: There was no postseason in 1994

Oakland A’s: 5 straight, 1971-75

Advanced to World Series: 3

Won World Series: 3


Notable: Great hitting -- Reggie Jackson, Sal Bando, Joe Rudi -- and great pitching -- Catfish Hunter, Vida Blue, Ken Holtzman -- gave A’s three straight crowns in middle of their run.

New York Yankees: 4 straight, 1998-2001

Advanced to World Series: 4

Won World Series: 3

Notable: After losing just one game in three straight World Series wins, the Diamondbacks stun Mariano Rivera in Game 7 to win in 2001.

Other teams to three-peat:

Team  YearsWS AppearancesChampionships
Blue Jays1991-9322