fb-pixel Skip to main content

The Frozen Four is coming back to Boston.

TD Garden will be the host site for the 2015 men's hockey national semifinals and championship, the NCAA announced Wednesday.

The semifinals will take place April 9 and the title game will be April 11.

Boston hosted the event most recently in 2004 and also in 1998. Boston Garden held the Frozen Four for three straight years from 1972-74 and the former Boston Arena (now Matthews Arena, on the campus of Northeastern University) in 1960.

"This is a great day for hockey in New England,'' said Hockey East commissioner Joe Bertagna in a release. "The region's hockey fans support the college game week after week, season after season. This will allow them the opportunity to come and enjoy the season's biggest games and enjoy much of what TD Garden and the city of Boston have to offer. All of us in Hockey East look forward to delivering a memorable championship for participants and fans alike.''

Amy Latimer, the president of TD Garden, echoed Bertagna's sentiment.


"We are thrilled with today's announcement that TD Garden is to host the NCAA Division 1 men's 2015 Frozen Four,'' said Latimer. "The TD Garden is an established Hub of Hockey, home of the Boston Bruins, and the annual college hockey Beanpot tournament and Hockey East championships. Coupled with the region's love for hockey, Boston is an ideal host for this elite event. Our great partnerships with Hockey East, the Massachusetts Sports Partnership and the backing of the city and the Commonwealth are credited with helping us attract these huge national events to Boston.''

Hockey East has been well represented in the Frozen Four. The men's league has won eight NCAA championships in the past 21 years. Since 1999, the league has won six NCAA championships with 13 NCAA championship game appearances, placing 21 teams in the Frozen Four and 52 teams in the NCAA Tournament during that time.


Since the start of the 2000s, Boston College has won the title four times — in 2001, '08, '10 and '12. Boston University won the championship in 2009.

Last spring, UMass-Lowell was the league's lone representative in the Frozen Four.

The 2014 Frozen Four will be held at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia April 10 and April 12.

Nancy Marrapese-Burrell can be reached at marrapese@globe.com. Follow her on Twitter @Elle1027.