Three Patriots named to All-Pro team

Devin McCourty, right, and Aqib Talib both earned All-Pro second team honors.
Devin McCourty, right, and Aqib Talib both earned All-Pro second team honors. (Jim Rogash/Getty Images/File)

FOXBOROUGH - The Associated Press All-Pro teams were announced on Friday, and three Patriots players were recognized. Offensive lineman Logan Mankins, cornerback Aqib Talib and safety Devin McCourty were all named to the second team.

The All-Pro team is selected by a panel of 50 media members, and is considered more prestigious than the Pro Bowl.

This is the fifth time Mankins has been named an All-Pro; he was first team in 2010, and second team in 2007, ‘09 and 2011. The co-captain started all 16 games this season, including one at left tackle, when Nate Solder had to sit out.


This is the second time McCourty has been honored, and he now holds the distinction of being selected All-Pro at two different positions: at cornerback (second team) as a rookie in 2010, and this year at safety. This is the first time Talib has been honored.

Here is the full list of All-Pro selections:


Quarterback: Peyton Manning, Denver.

(No second team quarterback; Manning was named on all ballots.)

Running backs: LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City

Second team: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Eddie Lacy, Green Bay

Fullback: Mike Tolbert, Carolina.

Second team: Marcel Reece, Oakland.

Tight End: Jimmy Graham, New Orleans.

Second team: Vernon Davis, San Francisco.

Wide receivers: Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Josh Gordon, Cleveland.

Second team: A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Demaryius Thomas, Denver and Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh.

Tackles: Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Jason Peters, Philadelphia.

Second team: Tyron Smith, Dallas; Joe Staley, San Francisco.

Guards: Louis Vasquez, Denver; Evan Mathis, Philadelphia.

Second team: Jahri Evans, New Orleans; Logan Mankins, New England and Josh Sitton, Green Bay.

Center: Ryan Kalil, Carolina. Second team: Alex Mack, Cleveland.


Defensive end: J.J. Watt, Houston; Robert Quinn, St. Louis.

Second team: Mario Williams, Buffalo; Greg Hardy, Carolina.

Defensive tackle: Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit.


Second team: Dontari Poe, Kansas City; Muhammad Wilkerson, New York Jets, Jurrell Casey, Tennessee and Justin Smith, San Francisco.

Outside linebackers: Robert Mathis, Indianapolis; Lavonte David, Tampa Bay.

Second team: Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco.

Inside linebackers: Luke Kuechly, Carolina; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco.

Second team: Vontaze Burfict, Cincinnati; Karlos Dansby, Arizona.

Cornerbacks: Richard Sherman, Seattle; Patrick Peterson, Arizona.

Second team: Aqib Talib, New England; Joe Haden, Cleveland and Alterraun Verner, Tennessee.

Safeties: Earl Thomas, Seattle; Eric Berry, Kansas City.

Second team: Eric Weddle, San Diego; Kam Chancellor, Seattle, Jairus Byrd, Buffalo, T.J. Ward, Cleveland, Devin McCourty, New England and Antrel Rolle, New York Giants.


Punter: Johnny Hekker, St. Louis.

Second team: Brandon Fields, Miami.

Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore.

Second team: Matt Prater, Denver.

Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota.

Second team: Dexter McCluster, Kansas City.