Sports

IIHF: No goal was the correct call

SOCHI, Russia — It appeared Russia took a 3-2 lead on the United States in Saturday’s preliminary men’s hockey game when Fedor Tyutin’s slap shot from the point beat Team USA goalie Jonathan Quick.

But after a video review, the goal was waved off.

Why?

Advertisement

Because Quick immediately argued with the officials to review it because the net had come off its moorings before the puck went in.

Get Sports Headlines in your inbox:
The Globe's most recent sports headlines delivered to your inbox every morning.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

The International Ice Hockey Federation rulebook states that the goal should be disallowed ‘‘if the net has been displaced from its normal position, or the frame of the goal net is not completely flat on the ice.’’

According to the IIHF rules that govern the Olympics, American referee Brad Meier and Swedish counterpart Markus Vinnerborg made the proper call when they disallowed the apparent go-ahead goal by Tyutin with less than five minutes to go in the game.

“Upon reviewing the goal, the [US] net had clearly been displaced prior to the puck going into the net,” the IIHF said in a statement.

“Referee supervisor Konstantin Komissarov confirmed that the ruling made [by the referees] was the correct call and that the proper procedure had been followed with regards to the video review.”

John Powers of the Globe staff contributed to this report from Sochi.