fb-pixel Skip to main content

Ernst Van Dyk wins men’s wheelchair race

Ernst Van Dyk was the first to cross the finish line on Monday when he won the men’s wheelchair race. Elise Amendola/AP

Ernst Van Dyk returned to the winner’s circle for a record 10th time in the push rim wheelchair division of the Boston Marathon – but first since 2010 – leading from start to finish on Monday and breaking the tape in an unofficial time of 1 hour, 20 minutes, 36 seconds.

Van Dyk, a 41-year-old from South Africa, was already the winningest competitor in Boston Marathon history; his previous win in 2010 gave him nine titles, one more than Jean Driscoll.

He never trailed this time, getting in front early and extending his lead through the hills at the start of the course.


More from the 2014 Boston Marathon — Cullen: Just like the days we used to know | Gasper: Boston reclaims its Marathon | Photos: Marathon scenes | The ‘Scream Tunnel’ and Heartbreak Hill | The elite runners | Boylston Street | Videos from the Marathon | Full coverage