scorecardresearch Skip to main content

How Globe writers voted in Baseball Hall of Fame election

John Smoltz, Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson, and Curt Schilling.Photos from Getty and Reuters/AFP

The 2015 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot includes 34 names.

Seventeen are making their first appearance on the ballot, and players need 75 percent of ballots cast to be elected into the hall. The results will be announced Jan. 6 at 2 p.m.

The Globe staff has five eligible voters — Peter Abraham, Nick Cafardo, Bob Hohler, Bob Ryan, and Dan Shaughnessy — and three of the 13 players who received votes from the group were unanimous.

Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, and John Smoltz were unanimous.

Cooperstown Bound?
A look at how Globe staff writers voted.
Abraham Cafardo Hohler Ryan Shaughnessy
Jeff Bagwell X X X X
Craig Biggio X X X
Barry Bonds X X
Roger Clemens X X
Randy Johnson X X X X X
Jeff Kent X
Edgar Martinez X
Pedro Martinez X X X X X
Mike Mussina X
Mike Piazza X X X X
Tim Raines X X X X
Curt Schilling X X X X
John Smoltz X X X X X
Alan Trammell X X X

The highlighted players had stints — no matter how long or short — with the Red Sox.


13 of 34
Eligible players that received at least one vote from a Globe staffer.
Pedro Martinez
John Smoltz
Randy Johnson
Curt Schilling
Jeff Bagwell
Tim Raines
Mike Piazza
Craig Biggio
Alan Trammell
Roger Clemens
Barry Bonds
Mike Mussina
Jeff Kent

To earn a Hall of Fame vote, a member of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America must have spent 10 consecutive years on a baseball beat.