2015 Boys’ Indoor Track All-Scholastics

Sebastian Silveira won the All-State hurdles title in 7.57.
Jim Davis/Globe Staff
Sebastian Silveira won the All-State hurdles title in 7.57.

Athlete of the Year

Sebastian Silveira, Andover

The Princeton-bound senior won the All-State hurdles title in 7.57 after winning Division 1 in 7.56. He finished second at New Englands (7.445) and was on Andover’s first-place shuttle hurdles squad at New Balance Nationals.


Quinten Clark, Lexington, senior

Clark took second in the high jump at All-States with a personal-best jump of 6 feet, 6 inches. The senior finished third at the Division 1 meet, clearing 6 feet, and finished fifth at the New Englands championships, clearing 6-5.

Jonathan Derolus, Brockton, senior

The repeat All-Scholastic and Tri-County League MVP swept the 55-meter dash this season, winning New England in 6.43 seconds, All-State in 6.56, and Division 1 in 6.49. Derolus, a senior honor roll student, also plays football.

P.J. Garmon, Billerica, senior


After taking fifth at last year’s New Englands, Garmon captured the 1,000 title in 2:26.97, following an All-State (2:31.70) title and Division 2 titles in the 1,000 and the mile. The cross-country All-Scholastic will attend UConn.

Chris Jewett, Woburn, senior

Get Sports Headlines in your inbox:
The most recent sports headlines delivered to your inbox every morning.
Thank you for signing up! Sign up for more newsletters here

The senior captain dominated the 300, winning the All-State in 35.02 seconds and tying a Division 2 meet record of 35.15 seconds en route. He won the Division 2 long jump and also helped Woburn win the Division 2 4x200.

Joe Luongo, St. John’s Prep, senior

The Harvard-bound senior was unbeatable in the 600 for the second straight year, setting a state record of 1:18.84 in New York City and repeating as New England (1:19.37), All-State (1:19.36), and Division 1 (1:20.34) champion.

Thomas Ratcliffe, Concord-Carlisle, junior

Ratcliffe ran away with the All-State mile crown in 4:13.78, almost five seconds faster than the runner-up. He also cruised to the Division 3 title in 4:18.80 and helped the Patriots finish second at the Division 3 championships.

Dan Romano, Mansfield, senior

Romano won the All-State 2-mile title in 9:25.41 and the Division 2 crown in 9:34.82. He also helped Mansfield’s DMR squad earn a second-place finish at the New Balance indoor grand prix. He will attend Northeastern.

Kevin Saccone, Old Rochester, senior


The senior won the All-State long jump with a leap of 22 feet, 1¼ inches and claimed the Division 5 title with a 21-1½. Saccone also captured the New England hurdles title in 7.441 seconds and the Division 5 hurdles title in 7.58.

Ben Stoyle, Pembroke, senior

Stoyle, a senior, won the Division 4 shot put title with a throw of 54 feet and took second at the All-State meet with a mark of 52-9¼. The honor roll student is also a member of Pembroke’s outdoor track team.


Andover, 4 x 200

Andover’s 4x200-meter relay team of seniors Sean Caveney, Sebastian Silveira and Hamza Naveed along with sophomore Jeremy Travaglini was virtually unbeatable this season, capturing an All-State win in 1:31.52 and a Division 1 title in 1:31.34.

Natick, 4 x 400

The Natick squad of Lucas Holt, Myles Holt, Brandon Thornhill and Brian Holihan combined to capture the 4x400-meter All-State title in 3:23.83. The quartet also took first at the Division 2 meet in 3:27.29 and third at the New England championships, clocking in at 3:24.11.

Peabody, 4 x 800

Peabody’s 4x800 took second at the All-State meet, finishing in 8:03.98, and finished fourth at the Division 1 championships in 8:12.72. Peabody’s squad was a combination of Ben Manoogian, Jason Karakaedos, Connor Wolff, Michael Ricci, and Riley Dowd.

Coaches of the Year

Peter Comeau

Division 1: Andover


In his 20th year at Andover, Comeau helped his alma mater earn All-State and Division 1 relays titles. The 2010 coach of the year, Comeau also led the Golden Warriors to a second-place finish at the Division 1 championships.

Steven Nugent

Division 2: North Andover

The 2013 Division 2 Coach of the Year, Nugent led North Andover to a 6-0 record this season and its first MVC title. The Scarlet Knights also tied Woburn for the Division 2 relays title and finished second at the Division 2 meet.

Scott Holster

Division 3: North Attleboro

Holster led North Attleboro to a 5-0 Hockomock Kelley-Rex dual meet record and guided his squad to the Division 3 relays crown. Holster has coached indoor track for 19 seasons, including 12 as head coach.

Kent Taylor

Division 4: Norton

In the last two years, Norton has back-to-back undefeated seasons (18-0). The boys were Massachusetts Division 4 State Relay champions for the first time in school history. The Lancers won their second straight indoor TVL title.

George McCabe

Division 5: East Bridgewater

The MSTCA Hall of Famer led his alma mater to a 6-1 record and a South Shore League title this season. McCabe also coaches cross country and outdoor track at East Bridgewater and has amassed a 569-98 overall coaching record.