fb-pixel Skip to main content

Athlete of the Year

Brianna Duncan

Division 1: Cambridge

Just a junior, Duncan broke the state record in the 55-meter dash with a second-place time of 6.98 seconds at the New England championships and captured All-State titles in the dash (7.14) and long jump (18-8½).


Danae Bucci, Bedford, senior

Bucci won the New England high jump title with a leap of 5 feet, 9 inches and cleared 5-8 to take home the All-State crown. The senior captain also won the Division 4 title, clearing 5-6, and took fourth in the long jump.

Margie Cullen, Needham, junior

Cullen won the All-State 2-mile in 10:51.21 and cruised to the Division 2 title in 11:02.50, over 30 seconds faster than the runner-up, to help the Rockets win third place. She was a 2014 Globe All-Scholastic in cross country.


Isabella DiMare, Notre Dame (Hingham), senior

DiMare cruised to the New England 55-meter hurdles title in 8.26 seconds after claiming her second straight All-State win in 8.44. She also captured Division 3 wins in the hurdles (8.57) and dash (7.24). She will attend Holy Cross.

Kaleigh Hughes, Needham, senior

Hughes ran a 4:56.35 mile to claim the All-State title and captured the Division 2 crown in 5:02.05. She finished third at the New Englands in 4:56.77. The Bay State Conference MVP is committed to Villanova.

Sierra Irvin, Hingham, senior

The Arizona State-bound senior dominated the 300, earning victories in New Englands (39.48) and Division 3 championships (39.25). A repeat All-Scholastic, Irvin was second at All-States (40.11) and helped Hingham finish third.

Ariel Keklak, Lincoln-Sudbury, junior

Keklak won the 1,000 at the All-State meet, finishing in 2:51.17. She also claimed the Division 1 title in 2:54.25 and finished third at the New England championships. Keklak also won with the 4x800 squad at New Englands (9:16.25.)


Jenny Lee, Woburn, senior

The captain won this year’s All-State shot put title with a personal-best mark of 40 feet, 3¼ inches. She captured the Division 2 crown for the second straight year with a throw of 39-11. Lee also plays softball for the Tanners.

Amy Piccolo, Ursuline, senior

The Northeastern-bound senior dominated the 600, winning the New England title in 1:35.13 and claiming her third straight All-State crown in 1:34.23. She also helped Ursuline capture the Division 5 title with a win in 1:35.75.


Hingham, 4x200

The squad of seniors Sierra Irvin and Olivia Cundari, junior Sarah Endyke and sophomore Eve Hewins won the New England title in a state-record time of 1:42.75. Hingham’s 4x200 also captured an All-State win in 1:44.20 and was second in the Division 2 meet.

Mansfield, 4x400

Mansfield’s 4x400 earned its second straight All-Scholastic nod after winning the All-State and Division 2 championships. Seniors Mikaila Amerantes and Lindsay Goulet, junior Rachel Stier and freshman Emma Oldow captured the All-State crown in 3:58.75, just missing last year’s school-record time of 3:58.65.

Lincoln-Sudbury, 4x800

It was a group effort with senior Morgane Butler and juniors Katherine Malone, Nicole Kerrigan, and Ariel Keklak, along with sophomores Dana Murphy and Alexa Babick capturing the All-State title (9:22.89) and the New England 4x800 title (9:16.25). The squad also took third at the New Balance Nationals in 9:07.09, a school record.

Coaches of the Year

Joe Tranchita

Division 1: Newton North

The Tigers posted a 5-0 record in their 26th season under Tranchita and captured the Division 1 championship and Division 1 relays title. Tranchita is a member of the MSTCA Hall of Fame and boasts a 168-6-1 indoor coaching record.


Juliana Nievergelt

Division 2: King Philip

In her seventh year coaching, Nievergelt led King Philip to a 6-1 mark, a Hockomock League title, and a Division 2 title. A former pro triathlete, Nievergelt praised her team for being high achievers on and off the track.

Paul Powell

Division 3: Bishop Feehan

The four-time Globe Coach of the Year led Bishop Feehan to its second straight Division 3 title. The Shamrocks also claimed the Division 3 relays crown and posted a 5-0 record en route to the EAC championship.

Lindsay Nastri

Division 4: Norton

Under Nastri, Norton has improved from 4-4 to 5-4 to 9-0. The girls were second at the TVL meet, their highest finish ever. Norton was the Division 4 State Relay champions for the first time in school history.

Ryan Eaton

Division 5: East Bridgewater

In his fourth year leading the East Bridgewater girls, Eaton helped the squad capture the first South Shore League indoor title in school history. The team posted a 5-1-1 record and Eaton earned league coach of the year honors.