fb-pixel Skip to main content

How the Globe voted in 2016 Baseball Hall of Fame election

Ken Griffey Jr. played for the Mariners, Reds, and White Sox during his 22-year career.Elaine Thompson/Associated Press/File 2013

Ken Griffey Jr. and Curt Schilling were the only two unanimous picks for the Baseball Hall of Fame on ballots submitted by the six members of the Boston Globe sports staff who are Hall of Fame voters.

Peter Abraham, Nick Cafardo, Amalie Benjamin, Bob Hohler, Bob Ryan, and Dan Shaughnessy all have votes. To earn a Hall of Fame vote, a writer must have been an active member of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America for 10 consecutive years.

The results of this year’s voting will be released on Wednesday at 6 p.m.


There are 32 names on the 2016 Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot, including 15 new additions. Players need to be named on 75 percent of ballots cast to be elected.

Call to the Hall?
A look at how the Globe staff writers voted
Abraham Benjamin Cafardo Hohler Ryan Shaughnessy
Jeff Bagwell X X X X X
Barry Bonds X X
Roger Clemens X X
Ken Griffey Jr. X X X X X X
Trevor Hoffman X X
Jeff Kent X X
Edgar Martinez X X X
Mike Mussina X X X X X
Mike Piazza X X X X X
Tim Raines X X X X X
Curt Schilling X X X X X X
Gary Sheffield X
Alan Trammell X X
Billy Wagner X X X

Bagwell, Mussina, Raines, and Piazza were almost unanimously selected, with Shaughnessy denying Bagwell, Mussina, and Piazza, while Cafardo was the lone holdout on Raines.

Top Globe vote-getters
A look at which players received the most votes on Globe ballots.
Ken Griffey Jr.
Curt Schilling
Jeff Bagwell
Mike Mussina
Mike Piazza
Tim Raines
Billy Wagner
Edgar Martinez
Barry Bonds
Roger Clemens
Trevor Hoffman
Jeff Kent
Alan Trammell
Gary Sheffield

Andrew Mahoney can be reached at andrew.mahoney@globe.com. Follow him on Twitter@GlobeMahoney.