fb-pixel Skip to main content

Forty-four players have been named to the NHL All-Star Weekend rosters for the league’s new three-on-three tournament, and Patrice Bergeron is the lone Bruins representative. This is the second All-Star appearance in Bergeron’s 11-year career.

In 38 games this season, Bergeron has notched 15 goals (tied for first on the team) and 22 assists (tied for first on the team) for 37 points (first on the team) with a plus-5 rating. Bergeron ranks second in the league in faceoff wins with 539.

Johnny Gaudreau, who won the 2014 Hobey Baker Award after leading Boston College to the Frozen Four, was named as a representative for the Calgary Flames. Three more Hockey East alumni were named as goalies: Cory Schneider (BC) of the New Jersey Devils, Jonathan Quick (UMass) of the Los Angeles Kings, and Ben Bishop (Maine) of the Tampa Bay Lightning.


In the new format, each division has a roster of six forwards, three defensemen, and two goalies. One player from each division was voted onto the team by fans and will serve as captain. Each All-Star team will have at least one player from every team in its division.

The event, to be held Sunday, Jan. 31, will be a three-on-three tournament pitting the four divisions against one another. The Atlantic Division will face the Metropolitan Division in one semifinal and the Central Division will face the Pacific Division in the other semifinal. The winners play in the championship game.

Games will be 20 minutes in length and will be decided by a shootout if tied after the 20 minutes.

Gerard Gallant of the Florida Panthers will coach the Atlantic Division, Lindy Ruff of the Dallas Stars will coach the Central Division, Darryl Sutter of the Kings the Pacific, and Barry Trotz of the Washington Capitals the Metropolitan.


Here are the rosters (*captain):

Atlantic Division

F Patrice Bergeron, Bruins

F Jaromir Jagr, Panthers*

F Leo Komarov, Maple Leafs

F Dylan Larkin, Red Wings

F Ryan O'Reilly, Sabres

F Steven Stamkos, Lightning

D Aaron Ekblad, Panthers

D Erik Karlsson, Senators

D P.K. Subban, Canadiens

G Ben Bishop, Lightning

G Roberto Luongo, Panthers

Metropolitan Division

F Nicklas Backstrom, Capitals

F Claude Giroux, Flyers

F Evgeni Malkin, Penguins

F Alex Ovechkin, Capitals*

F Brandon Saad, Blue Jackets

F John Tavares, Islanders

D Justin Faulk, Hurricanes

D Kris Letang, Penguins

D Ryan McDonagh, Rangers

G Braden Holtby, Capitals

G Cory Schneider, Devils

Central Division

F Jamie Benn, Stars

F Matt Duchene, Avalanche

F Patrick Kane, Blackhawks*

F Tyler Seguin, Stars

F Vladimir Tarasenko, Blues

F Jonathan Toews, Blackhawks

D Dustin Byfuglien, Jets

D Roman Josi, Predators

D Shea Weber, Predators

G Devan Dubnyk, Wild

G Pekka Rinne, Predators

Pacific Division

F Johnny Gaudreau, Flames

F Taylor Hall, Oilers

F Joe Pavelski, Sharks

F Corey Perry, Ducks

F John Scott, Coyotes*

F Daniel Sedin, Canucks

D Brent Burns, Sharks

D Drew Doughty, Kings

D Mark Giordano, Flames

G John Gibson, Ducks

G Jonathan Quick, Kings

Follow Andrew Mahoney on Twitter @GlobeMahoney