Elite field set for 2019 Boston Marathon

Elite marathoners Geoffrey Kirui (left) and Edna Kiplagat will be back to run the Boston Marathon.
Elite marathoners Geoffrey Kirui (left) and Edna Kiplagat will be back to run the Boston Marathon.Suzanne Kreiter/Globe staff file

The elite international fields for the 123rd Boston Marathon on April 15 are set. Nine Boston open champions and seven wheelchair champions will challenge their respective fields.

Combined, the field has won more than 200 international marathons.

“This year we welcome back 16 returning champions to challenge an accomplished international field of Olympians, World Champions and Abbott World Marathon Majors winners,” said John Hancock chief marketing officer Barbara Goose. “We recognize the commitment and hard work it takes to compete at the highest level of the sport and look forward to another compelling race in Boston.”

Leading the men’s field are 2018 Boston winner Yuki Kawauchi of Japan; 2017 Boston and 2017 IAAF World Marathon champion Geoffrey Kirui of Kenya; two-time Boston champion and 2018 New York City Marathon champion Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia; 2016 Boston victor Lemi Berhanu of Ethiopia; and 2012 Boston champion Wesley Korir of Kenya.

Of the 22 women in the elite field, 11 have personal bests under 2 hours 23 minutes.


Leading the way is 2018 winner Desiree Linden of the US. Also in contention will be two-time World Championships Marathon gold medalist, three-time Abbott World Marathon Majors series winner, and 2017 Boston champion Edna Kiplagat of Kenya; 2015 Boston, Prague, and Las Vegas winner Caroline Rotich of Kenya; and 2012 Boston, Hamburg, Toronto, Torino, and Singapore winner Sharon Cherop of Kenya.

Related: Sarah Sellers among top American women entered in 2019 Boston Marathon

In the men’s wheelchair division, defending champion Marcel Hug of Switzerland looks for his fifth title and is part of an impressive international field featuring 10-time Boston winner Ernst van Dyk of South Africa.

In 19 Boston appearances, van Dyk has 10 wins, five runner-ups, and a pair of third-place finishes.

In the women’s wheelchair division, Manuela Schar of Switzerland returns to the scene of her course record and world best performance. Schar finished in 1:28:17 in 2017, becoming the first woman to dip under the 1:30 barrier in Boston. She’ll be joined on the starting line by compatriot Sandra Graf.


Five-time winner and defending champion Tatyana McFadden fronts the American charge, leading Susannah Scaroni, Amanda McGrory, Arielle Rausin, Katrina Gerhard, and Michelle Wheeler.

Here is a look at all of the elite fields:

2019 Elite Men's Open Field
Name Country Personal best
Lawrence Cherono Kenya 2:04:06 (Amsterdam, 2018)
Sisay Lemma Ethiopia 2:04:08 (Dubai, 2018)
Lemi Berhanu Ethiopia 2:04:33 (Dubai, 2016)
Solomon Deksisa Ethiopia 2:04:40 (Amsterdam, 2018)
Lelisa Desisa Ethiopia 2:04:45 (Dubai, 2013)
Kenneth Kipkemoi Kenya 2:05:44 (Rotterdam, 2018)
Felix Kandie Kenya 2:06:03 (Seoul, 2017)
Geoffrey Kirui Kenya 2:06:27 (Amsterdam, 2016)
Festus Talam Kenya 2:06:13 (Eindhoven, 2017)
Wesley Korir Kenya 2:06:13 (Chicago, 2012)
Philemon Rono Kenya 2:06:52 (Toronto, 2017)
Hiroto Inoue Japan 2:06:54 (Tokyo, 2018)
Benson Kipruto Kenya 2:07:11 (Seoul, 2018)
Ghirmay Ghebreslassie Eritrea 2:07:46 (London, 2016)
Dathan Ritzenhein USA 2:07:47 (Chicago, 2012)
Yuki Kawauchi Japan 2:08:14 (Seoul, 2013)
Zersenay Tadese Eritrea 2:08:46 (Berlin, 2018)
Abdi Abdirahman USA 2:08:56 (Chicago, 2006)
Mohamed Reda El Aaraby Morocco 2:09:16 (Chicago, 2018)
Hayato Sonoda Japan 2:09:34 (Oita, 2018)
Scott Overall Great Britain 2:10:55 (Berlin, 2011)
Jeffrey Eggleston USA 2:10:52 (Gold Coast, 2014)
Jared Ward USA 2:11:30 (Rio de Janeiro, 2016)
Elkanah Kibet USA 2:11:31 (Chicago, 2015)
Timothy Ritchie USA 2:11:56 (Sacramento, 2017)
Shadrack Biwott USA 2:12:01 (New York City, 2016)
Scott Fauble USA 2:12:28 (New York City, 2018)
Aaron Braun USA 2:12:54 (Houston, 2015)
Brian Shrader USA 2:13:31 (Sacramento, 2018)
2019 Elite Women's Open Field
Name Country Personal best
Aselefech Mergia Ethiopia 2:19:31 (Dubai, 2012)
Edna Kiplagat Kenya 2:19:50 (London, 2012)
Mare Dibaba Ethiopia 2:19:52 (Dubai, 2012)
Worknesh Degefa Ethiopia 2:19:53 (Dubai, 2018)
Meskerem Assefa Ethiopia 2:20:36 (Frankfurt, 2018)
Jordan Hasay USA 2:20:57 (Chicago, 2017)
Belaynesh Oljira Ethiopia 2:21:53 (Frankfurt, 2018)
Sharon Cherop Kenya 2:22:28 (Berlin, 2013)
Desiree Linden USA 2:22:38 (Boston, 2011)
Marta Megra Ethiopia 2:22:35 (Toronto, 2018)
Betsy Saina Kenya 2:22:56 (Paris, 2018)
Caroline Rotich Kenya 2:23:22 (Chicago, 2012)
Sara Hall USA 2:26:20 (Ottawa, 2018)
Eva Vrabcova Czech Republic 2:26:31 (Berlin, 2018) NR
Sally Kipyego USA 2:28:01 (New York City, 2016)
Krista Duchene Canada 2:28:32 (Toronto, 2013)
Alyson Dixon Great Britain 2:29:06 (London, 2017)
Lindsay Flanagan USA 2:29:25 (Frankfurt, 2018)
Becky Wade USA 2:30:41 (Sacramento, 2013)
Sarah Crouch USA 2:32:27 (Chicago, 2018)
Sarah Sellers USA 2:36:37 (New York City, 2018)
Mary Wacera Kenya 66:29 (Houston half-marathon, 2016)
2019 Elite Men's Wheelchair Field
Name Country Personal best
Marcel Hug Switzerland 1:18:04 (Boston, 2017)
Ernst van Dyk South Africa 1:18:04 (Boston, 2017)
Josh Cassidy Canada 1:18:25 (Boston, 2012)
Masazumi Soejima Japan 1:18:50 (Boston, 2011)
Hiroyuki Yamamoto Japan 1:19:32 (Boston, 2017)
Hiroki Nishida Japan 1:20:28 (Boston, 2017)
Kota Hokinoue Japan 1:20:54 (Seoul, 2013)
Joshua George USA 1:21:47 (Boston, 2017)
Aaron Pike USA 1:22:09 (Boston, 2017)
Ryota Yoshida Japan 1:23:18 (Boston, 2017)
Krige Schabort USA 1:23:44 (Boston, 2012)
James Senbeta USA 1:24:27 (Boston, 2017)
David Weir Great Britain 1:26:17 (Boston, 2016)
Daniel Romanchuk USA 1:26:26 (Boston, 2017)
Brian Siemann USA 1:26:46 (Boston, 2017)
Patrick Monahan Ireland 1:29:10 (Seoul, 2017)
Johnboy Smith Great Britain 1:29:44 (Berlin, 2018)
Tristan Smyth Canada 1:29:53 (Berlin, 2018)
2019 Elite Women's Wheelchair Field
Name Country Personal best
Manuela Schar Switzerland 1:28:17 (Boston, 2017)
Amanda McGrory USA 1:33:13 (Boston, 2017)
Susannah Scaroni USA 1:33:17 (Boston, 2017)
Tatyana McFadden USA 1:35:05 (Boston, 2017)
Sandra Graf Switzerland 1:35:44 (Padua, 2008)
Margriet Van Den Broek Netherlands 1:38:33 (Boston, 2017)
Madison De Rozario Australia 1:39:22 (Chicago, 2017)
Katrina Gerhard USA 1:40:34 (Boston, 2017)
Diane Roy Canada 1:40:37 (Beijing, 2008)
Arielle Rausin USA 1:41:26 (Boston, 2017)
Aline de Rocha Brazil 1:41:40 (Duluth, 16)
Eliza Ault-Connell Australia 1:44:13 (Gold Coast, 2018)
Michelle Wheeler USA 1:45:22 (Oita, 2018)

Follow Andrew Mahoney on Twitter @GlobeMahoney.