Brooklyn tops Lowell in New York-Penn League final

BROOKLYN — Yoel Romero hit a run-scoring single in the seventh inning to give the Brooklyn Cyclones a 4-3 win over the Lowell Spinners to take the New York-Penn League championship on Tuesday.

Antoine Duplantis scored on the play after he hit an RBI triple.

The single by Romero capped a two-run inning for the Cyclones that started when Duplantis hit a triple, scoring teammate Jake Mangum.

After Brooklyn crossed the plate for two runs in the second inning, Lowell tied the game at 2 when Nick Decker and Cameron Cannon scored on an error in the third inning.

They then took a 3-2 when Marino Campana hit a solo home run in the seventh.


Mitch Ragan (4-2) got the win in relief, while Yusniel Padron-Artiles (8-2) took the loss.