fb-pixel Skip to main content

Stephon Gilmore leads group of three Patriots’ Pro Bowl selections

Stephon Gilmore landed his third Pro Bowl berth, it was announced Tuesday.Matthew J. Lee/Globe Staff

Patriots cornerback Stephon Gilmore, special teamer Matthew Slater, and linebacker Dont’a Hightower were named as Pro Bowlers, it was announced Tuesday.

It was the third Pro Bowl berth for Gilmore, who was also named to the team in 2016 and 2018. The 29-year-old is tied for the league lead in interceptions with a career-high six — that included two in Sunday’s win over the Bengals.

The Pro Bowl berth is just the latest in a line of honors for the cornerback: Last season, he was one of the only players in franchise history to be named a Pro Bowler, land a first-team All-Pro nomination, and take home a Super Bowl ring in the same season. This year, he could be the first player in franchise history to win the AP Defensive Player of the Year Award.


Matthew Slater has carved out an impressive career as a special teamer.Timothy T Ludwig/Getty Images

Slater, considered one of the best special teamers in recent league history, had seven previous Pro Bowl berths. The 34-year-old has been a standout gunner for New England this year, teaming with Justin Bethel to consistently tilt the field in the Patriots’ favor. Slater, who was named the AFC Special Teams Player of the Week for his work in Week 12, also has one blocked punt this season (against the Cowboys) and one special teams touchdown off another punt block (against the Bills).

The 29-year-old Hightower was named to the second Pro Bowl of his career. The eight-year veteran has 61 tackles and four sacks this year, to go along with three passes defensed and one fumble recovery for a touchdown.

When it comes to the rest of the league, the Ravens led the way with 12 Pro Bowlers, tying the record for most on a roster set by the 1973 Dolphins. Quarterback Lamar Jackson was named for the first time.

“This honor is all about my teammates and our coaches, because without them, the success we’ve had as a team wouldn’t be possible,” Jackson said. “I’m also grateful for all the fans who continue to support us and who have helped make this season so special. Ultimately, it’s about winning, and we still have a lot of work to do before we accomplish our biggest goals.”


Other Ravens named to the team were tight end Mark Andrews, fullback Patrick Ricard, running back Mark Ingram, guard Marshal Yanda, long snapper Morgan Cox, cornerbacks Marcus Peters and Marlon Humphrey, linebacker Matthew Judon, tackle Ronnie Stanley, safety Earl Thomas, and kicker Justin Tucker.



Quarterbacks: Lamar Jackson, Baltimore; Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City; Deshaun Watson, Houston.

Tight ends: Mark Andrews, Baltimore; Travis Kelce, Kansas City.

Wide receivers: Keenan Allen, L.A. Chargers; Tyreek Hill, Kansas City; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston; Jarvis Landry, Cleveland.

Tackles: Trent Brown, Oakland; Ronnie Stanley, Baltimore; Laremy Tunsil, Houston.

Guards: David DeCastro, Pittsburgh; Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis.

Centers: Rodney Hudson, Oakland; Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.

Running backs: Nick Chubb, Cleveland; Derrick Henry, Tennessee; Mark Ingram, Baltimore.

Fullback: Patrick Ricard, Baltimore.


Defensive ends: Joey Bosa, L.A. Chargers; Calais Campbell, Jacksonville; Frank Clark, Kansas City.

Interior lineman: Geno Atkins, Cincinnati; Cameron Heyward, Pittsburgh; Chris Jones, Kansas City.

Outside linebackers: Matthew Judon, Baltimore; Von Miller, Denver; T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh.

Inside/middle linebackers: Dont'a Hightower, New England; Darius Leonard, Indianapolis.

Cornerbacks: Stephon Gilmore, New England; Marlon Humphrey, Baltimore; Marcus Peters, Baltimore; Tre'Davious White, Buffalo.

Free safeties: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Pittsburgh; Earl Thomas, Baltimore.


Strong safety: Jamal Adams, N.Y. Jets


Punter: Brett Kern, Tennessee

Kicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore.

Long snapper: Morgan Cox, Baltimore.

Return specialist: Mecole Hardman, Kansas City.

Special teamer: Matthew Slater, New England.



Quarterbacks: Drew Brees, New Orleans; Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay; Russell Wilson, Seattle.

Tight ends: Zach Ertz, Philadelphia; George Kittle, San Francisco.

Wide receivers: Mike Evans, Tampa Bay; Chris Godwin, Tampa Bay; Julio Jones, Atlanta; Michael Thomas, New Orleans.

Tackles: Terron Armstead, New Orleans; Tyron Smith, Dallas; David Bakhtiari, Green Bay.

Guards: Brandon Brooks, Philadelphia; Zack Martin, Dallas; Brandon Scherff, Washington.

Centers: Travis Frederick, Dallas; Jason Kelce, Philadelphia.

Running backs: Dalvin Cook, Minnesota; Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas; Christian McCaffrey, Carolina.

Fullback: Kyle Juszczyk, San Francisco


Defensive ends: Cameron Jordan, New Orleans; Danielle Hunter, Minnesota; Nick Bosa, San Francisco.

Interior lineman: Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia; Aaron Donald, L.A. Rams; Grady Jarrett, Atlanta.

Outside linebackers: Shaquil Barrett, Tampa Bay; Khalil Mack, Chicago; Chandler Jones, Arizona.

Inside/middle linebackers: Luke Kuechly, Carolina; Bobby Wagner, Seattle.

Cornerbacks: Marshon Lattimore, New Orleans; Jalen Ramsey, L.A. Rams; Richard Sherman, San Francisco.

Free safeties: Budda Baker, Arizona; Eddie Jackson, Chicago.

Strong safety: Harrison Smith, Minnesota.


Punter: Tress Way, Washington.

Kicker: Wil Lutz, New Orleans.

Long snapper: Rick Lovato, Philadelphia.

Return specialist: Deonte Harris, New Orleans.

Special teamer: Cordarrelle Patterson, Chicago.

Material from the Associated Press was used in this report. Christopher Price can be reached at christopher.price@globe.com. Follow Christopher Price@cpriceNFL.