comparing the champions

Three different casts for three different titles

Jon Lester, second from left, and Dustin Pedroia, second from right, are two of the few holdovers from the Red Sox’ 2007 championship team.
Barry Chin/Globe Staff

With the notable exception of David Ortiz, the Red Sox used three different casts to win three titles over the last 10 years.

A look at how the players have changed, but the roles stayed the same:

Staff ace Curt Schilling Josh Beckett Jon Lester
RBI machine Manny Ramirez Mike Lowell Mike Napoli
Team captain Pedro Martinez Jason Varitek Dustin Pedroia
Switch-hitting catalyst Mark Bellhorn Coco Crisp Shane Victorino
Lefthanded slugger David Ortiz David Ortiz David Ortiz
Star closer Keith Foulke Jonathan Papelbon Koji Uehara
Breakthrough starter Bronson Arroyo Daisuke Matsuzaka Felix Doubront
Quiet infield veteran Bill Mueller Julio Lugo Stephen Drew
Veteran stopper Derek Lowe Curt Schilling John Lackey
Contributing rookie Kevin Youkilis Jacoby Ellsbury Xander Bogaerts
Clubhouse leader Kevin Millar Alex Cora Jonny Gomes
Workhorse reliever Mike Timlin Javier Lopez Junichi Tazawa
Lefty specialist Alan Embree Hideki Okajima Craig Breslow
Midseason pickup Orlando Cabrera Eric Gagne Jake Peavy
Traded away Nomar Garciaparra Joel Pineiro Jose Iglesias
Returning injured pitcherScott WilliamsonJon LesterClay Buchholz
Bench weaponDave RobertsEric HinskeQuintin Berry