scorecardresearch Skip to main content

Worcester to host NCAA hockey regional in 2020

Cornell and Boston University squared off in an NCAA regional in Worcester in 2018.John Cetrino for The Boston Globe

The NCAA announced regional sites for the 2020 and 2021 Division 1 hockey tournaments on Friday, listing Worcester as host for the 2020 Northeast Regional.

DCU Center and Holy Cross will once again play host on March 27-28, marking the 16th time the arena has done so, and has already hosted more regional games than any other site in the country. The East Regional will be played at the Times Union Center in Albany, N.Y. on March 28-29, and will be hosted by the ECAC.

SNHU Arena in Manchester, New Hampshire, in conjunction with UNH, will take over hosting duties again in 2021 as part of the alternating alignment with Worcester. New England also gets the 2021 East Regional, which will be held at Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport, Conn. co-hosted by Yale and Sacred Heart.


Among the other sites are returns to Allentown, Pa. and Fargo, N.D. for the next two Midwest Regionals and a new site in the Budweiser Events Center in Loveland, Colo., just north of Denver.

The 5,200-seat all-purpose arena is home to the Colorado Eagles of the American Hockey League and will serve as home for the next two West Regionals hosted by the University of Denver. It is also the first time the NCAA hockey tournament will be played in Colorado since the 2008 Frozen Four, won by Boston College.

Hockey East stars competing for USA Hockey

USA Hockey announced the first 17 players named to the U.S. team that will compete in the 2019 International Ice Hockey Federation Men’s World Championship, to be held May 10-26 in Slovakia.

The roster is dotted with former Hockey East stars, including all three goalies, with Boston College products Cory Schneider and Thatcher Demko joined by Northeastern’s Cayden Primeau. At forward will be former Boston University stars Jack Eichel and Clayton Keller, along with Chris Kreider and Colin White (Boston College), James Van Riemsdyk (UNH) and Frank Vatrano (UMass).


Dan can be reached at; follow him on Twitter @DanielRShulman.