2017 Rugby All-Scholastics

Chris Troiano led BC High to an undefeated season and a Division 1 state championship.
Chris Troiano led BC High to an undefeated season and a Division 1 state championship.(Barry Chin/Globe Staff)


Brian Barrett, St. John’s Prep, senior

A two-time Catholic Conference All-Star, Barrett was the Eagles’ MVP in their run to the Division 1 final against BC High, reaching the try zone five times. A member of the Mystic River Rugby club, he will attend Tufts.

Zoe Belge, Lincoln-Sudbury, junior

Belge captained the Warriors in the inaugural season for rugby as an MIAA sport. She proved her value to her Lincoln-Sudbury squad on and off the pitch, as the fly half played every minute this season.

Malik Cameron, Milton, senior

Cameron combined with Samson Yuan as one of the best center combos in Division 2 as the Wildcats played their way to the state title game. On the season, Cameron scored eight tries and helped drive the Wildcats’ offense.


Patrick Cloherty, Marshfield, senior

Cloherty was a jack of all trades for the Rams this season, punching in four tries from inside center and connecting on 14 conversions as the team’s kicker. He plans to attend Massachusetts Maritime in the fall.

Ryan Connolly, BC High, senior

One of the most explosive players for the Division 1-champion Eagles, Connolly averaged two tries a game, finding the try zone 14 times in seven games. He plans to continue his rugby career at Northeastern.

Rachel Iler-Keniston, Belmont, junior

The junior outside center fueled the Marauders’ drive to the first MIAA Division 1 title with a 17-14 win over Algonquin. Her program’s two-time player of the year, Iler-Keniston found the try zone five times.

Coleman Lambert, Hanover, senior

The forward was an instrumental part of Hanover’s run to the Division 2 title. On the season, Lambert had 18 poaches and 10 tries from the front row, leading the Indians’ forward pack. He plans to attend Mass. Maritime.

Chris Troiano, BC High, senior


A senior captain, Troiano led the Eagles to an undefeated season and a Division 1 state championship. The forward was named a Catholic Conference All-Star and plans to study engineering at UMass Amherst in the fall.

Brendan Walsh, Belmont, senior

The MIAA All-Star was a force up front for the Marauders, scoring five times for a Belmont squad that held its own in a competitive Division 1. Walsh plans to attend Mass. College of Art and Design in the fall.

Jeffrey Wheeler, Hanover, senior

The center scored a vital try in Hanover’s comeback win over Milton in the Division 2 state final. On the year, Wheeler found the try zone 20 times and was the biggest threat on the Indians’ late-scoring offense.



Algonquin: Samantha Dickie, Kate Griffin, Emma Hutchins, Kendall Scholl, Madison Scott. Belmont: Molly Goldberg, Rachel Iler-Keniston, Sara Nelson, Georgia Parsons, Jessica Rosenstein, Gabriella Viale. Lincoln-Sudbury: Zoe Belge, Suley Oller-Guerrera, Christelle Saint-Louis, Nia Williams.


Algonquin: Alex Gowdy, Nate Porteus, Colin Robinson, Ben Spellman. Belmont: Laurent Brabo, Ben Jones, Joe Viale, Brendan Walsh. BC High: Ryan Connolly, Griffin Gildea, Cormac McAdams, Alex Richards, Nicholas Sommer, Chris Troiano. Brookline: Jakob Jean-Baptiste. Cambridge: Lovenson Felix, Edwin Owusu. Catholic Memorial: Harry Sullivan. Hanover: Thomas Frucci, Coleman Lambert, Jeffrey Wheeler. Lincoln-Sudbury: Brian Cooper, Kahlil Lynch. Malden Catholic: Kevin Batting. Marshfield: Patrick Cloherty, Jake DeCoste, John DeCoste, Christian Friedel, Zack Hubbard, James Sullivan. Milton: Malik Cameron, Abdullah El-Sayed, Joe Morphin, Samson Yuan. Needham: Liam Nahill. St. John’s Prep: Zach Ahlin, Brian Barrett, Harrison Hosker, Connor Robinson, Tristan Wallace. Xaverian: Bobby Holmberg, Brendan McCarthy, Joseph Romblaski.


Text by David Souza.