Boston’s best high school basketball players get one more run at All-Star Classic

Burke senior Levar Williams will put his shooting skills on display in the Boston City League All-Star games at Northeastern’s Cabot Center Saturday afternoon.
Burke senior Levar Williams will put his shooting skills on display in the Boston City League All-Star games at Northeastern’s Cabot Center Saturday afternoon.(MATTHEW J. LEE/GLOBE STAFF)

The 2018-19 MIAA basketball season has come to an end, but the best players in the Boston City League will lace up their sneakers one more time in the Dr. Joseph Warren BPS/SA Girls’ and Boys’ Basketball All-Star Classic Saturday at Northeastern’s Cabot Center.

The event includes live music, a raffle with fan giveaways, a BCL all-star cheerleader performance, and a speech from Newton mayor Setti Warren.

The girls’ all-star teams face off at noon, with Fenway coach John Rice and Boston Latin Academy coach William Dever each guiding a team.

The boys’ all-star teams tip off at 2 p.m. with TechBoston coach Johnny Williams steering his side in a rivalry clash against New Mission coach Malcolm Smith, three of his New Mission players, and Burke’s elite backcourt of Levar Williams and Devante Jamison.


Williams is a favorite to win the boys’ 3-point contest. Three-point contests will be held at halftime of both all-star games.

The 2018 BCL Basketball Sportsmanship Awards will be also be handed out during halftime.


Team John Rice

(Players will wear their light team uniforms)

Colby Upchurch, Fenway

Dasiah Thornton, Fenway

Nattaly David, Fenway

Nicolette Brangiforte, East Boston

Grace Burns, O’Bryant

Chalina Guerrero, O’Bryant

Winjourcy Robeson, CASH

Samantha Whitlock, Madison Park

Tanaysha Coleman, Madison Park

Alphylineca Jean-Baptiste, Boston United

Destiny Long, Brighton

Team William Dever

(Players will wear their dark team uniforms)

Nirome Forbes, Snowden

Karla Lopez, Snowden

Awliyo Hussein, Excel

Fiona Mannion, Latin Academy

Jordan Bellot, Latin Academy

Michaela Russell, Latin Academy

Aneesa Williams-Santiago, TechBoston

Alizey Marshall, Charlestown

Alexandra Rowell, Charlestown

Ainsley Pena, English

Jasharee Greene, New Mission

Winnie Kenou, New Mission

Amaya Adamson, Burke


Team Johnny Williams

(Players will wear their light team uniforms)

Lyron Bennett, TechBoston

Shamar Browder, TechBoston

Richard Burton, TechBoston

Jose Flores, Madison Park

Keyon Jackson, Fenway


Jaiquan Jones, Fenway

Maicor Brito, East Boston

Guerson Vital Saintfort, West Roxbury

Donte White-Barboza, Boston United

Rivaldo Soares, O’Bryant

Tim Lambright, O’Bryant

Eric Nesmith, Brighton

Jalen Bing-Wallace, Excel

Team Malcom Smith

(Players will wear their dark team uniforms)

Sequan Dare, New Mission

Tyreese Marshall, New Mission

Juan Salas, New Mission

Mekhi Dedrick, Boston English

Jarriel Wiggins, Boston English

Levar Williams, Burke

Devante Jamison, Burke

TaiLonne Jones, Snowden

William Samuels, Snowden

Travis Adamson, CASH

Emmanuel Carr, Charlestown

Netera Mitchell, Charlestown

Mason Lawson, Latin Academy

Football awards dinner

The Massachusetts High School Football Coaches Association will hold its annual awards dinner on Sunday, April 28, at the Hilton Doubletree in Westborough. Social hour begins at 4 p.m., followed by the dinner at 5. For ticket information please contact Sandy Ruggles ( or Tom Lopez (

Six head coaches will be inducted into the MHSFCA Hall of Fame: Greg Burke (Stoughton); Serge Clivio (Arlington Catholic); Jim Duggan (Maynard); Ed Guadian (Newburyport); Tim Morris (Melrose); Mike Redding (Mansfield).

Six assistants will also be honored: Mike Cella (Pope John); Dave Swanton (Hopkinton); Mike Bordieri (Foxborough); Dave Bunton (Buckingham, Browne & Nichols), Bill Pacitto (Cardinal Spellman); and Mike Eakins (Braintree).

Rick Moore & Bill Newell (Msonewsports) will receive media awards, along with Danny Ventura (Boston Herald).

Lopez, who retired in December after 41 seasons at Lincoln-Sudbury Regional, will receive special recognition for becoming the fifth coach in state history to record 300 career wins.

“I was in the right place at the right time,” said Lopez, a graduate of Newton South. “It’s certainly an honor, but an honor you have to share with a lot of people, and it’s secondary to the [coaches] going into the Hall of Fame and the Courageous Players being honored.”


Nine players will also be recognized with the “Courageous Player” awards. All battled through adversity to contribute to their teams this season.

The honorees: Robert Martins (Braintree); Cory Bright (Bishop Fenwick); Dante Sequeira (Ayer-Shirley); Kenneth Rezendes (Matignon); Manan Patel (Northeast Metro); Anestasia Bessler (Mystic Valley); Peter Roche (Arlington); Nick Scire (Stoneham); Brent Dixon (Apponequet).

“Most kids start playing football with the hopes of winning league titles, Super Bowls, and other accolades,” said Lopez. “These [courageous players], their expectations aren’t always the same, but each year, they really steal the show with what they’ve accomplished.”

Feehan coach steps down

Mike Deady stepped down as varsity girls’ basketball coach at Bishop Feehan Monday after a 22-year run, punctuated by a 355-99 record and a Division 1 state title in 2016. A number of his players have gone on to play in college, headlined by Missy Traversi (Maine), Laura Lokitis (Boston College), Amy Lepley (Holy Cross), Lexi Sells (Providence), Sierra Schrader (Adelphi), Lauren Manis (Holy Cross) and Katie Nelson (Boston University) and Maddie Jolin (Providence College).

“It has been the greatest privilege of my life being the head coach of the girls’ basketball team at Bishop Feehan High School,” said Deady. “I look forward to an extremely bright future for our girls’ basketball team.”

Winter 2018-19 All-Scholastic

The Globe’s 2018-19 Winter All-Scholastic section will be published on Sunday, April 7. League and conference reps are asked to email their all-star teams to ASAP.


Nate Weitzer can be reached at