fb-pixel

Revolution’s 2019 schedule is released

The Revolution went 10-11-13 last season and missed the playoffs.
The Revolution went 10-11-13 last season and missed the playoffs.(steven senne/AP file)

The Revolution’s 2019 schedule was announced Monday, with the season slated to begin on Saturday, March 2, with a 4:30 p.m. game against FC Dallas.

With a new team, FC Cincinnati, joining the league, MLS shortened the season (though it is still 34 games), with the regular-season finales to be played Sunday, Oct. 6.

That day, the Revolution will make their lone trip to Atlanta to play MLS Cup champion Atlanta United. The champions come to Foxborough on Saturday, April 13, for the season’s first night game at Gillette Stadium.

New England will host three games in March, starting March 9 against Columbus. The Revolution host Cincinnati for the first time on Sunday, March 24, at 4 p.m., followed by Minnesota United March 30.

Advertisement



Los Angeles FC pays its first visit to Foxborough on Saturday, Aug. 3. That game will serve as a homecoming for former Revolution midfielder Lee Nguyen, who was traded to LAFC last May.

Some big road games include the first trip to Cincinnati on July 21 and a midweek trip to Portland on Wednesday, Sept. 25, that is sandwiched between two home games.

Six of the first nine games are at home, including a three-game homestand between April 13-24 against Atlanta, New York Red Bulls, and Montreal.

As the Revolution aim for their first postseason berth since 2015, the final month of play presents a challenge, with four of the last six games on the road. The final home game comes Sept. 29 against New York City FC at 5 p.m.

The full schedule (all games on NBC Sports Boston, except where noted):

Date

opponent

time

Saturday, March 2

at Dallas

4:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 9

vs. Columbus

2:00 p.m.

Sunday, March 17

at Toronto

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 24

vs. Cincinnati

4 p.m.

Saturday, March 30

vs. Minnesota

2 p.m.

Saturday, April 6

at Columbus

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 13

vs. Atlanta

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 20

vs. NY Red Bulls

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, April 24

vs. Montreal

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 27

at Kansas City

8:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 4

at Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, May 8

at Chicago

8 p.m.

Saturday, May 11

vs. San Jose

7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 17

at Montreal

8 p.m.

Saturday, May 25

vs. D.C. United

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 1

at LA Galaxy

10:30 p.m.

Wednesday, June 26

vs. Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 29

vs. Houston

7:30 p.m.

Thursday, July 4

at Colorado

9 p.m.

Friday, July 12

at D.C. United

7 p.m.

Wednesday, July 17

vs. Vancouver

7 p.m.*

Sunday, July 21

at Cincinnati

6 p.m.

Saturday, July 27

vs. Orlando

8 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 3

vs. Los Angeles FC

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 10

at Seattle

4 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 17

at NY Red Bulls

7 p.m.†

Saturday, Aug. 24

vs. Chicago

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 31

vs. Toronto

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 7

at NYC FC

3:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 14

at Orlando

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 21

vs. Salt Lake

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 25

at Portland

10:30 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 29

vs. NYC FC

5 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 6

at Atlanta

4 p.m.

*ESPN; †Univision


Dan Shulman can be reached at dan.shulman@globe.com; follow him on Twitter @DanielRShulman.