Under major league rules, David Ortiz can appeal the scoring decision made in the seventh inning of Friday night’s game via his agent. The Red Sox designated hitter said Saturday it was in the works and that his agent, Fernando Cuza, would submit the necessary paperwork.
Ortiz hit a popup that fell between two fielders and was ruled an error by official scorer Steve Weller. Right fielder Alex Rios was charged with the error.
Such plays are routinely called hits. But with Texas starter Yu Darvish carrying a perfect game at the time, Weller went against convention. He said later the call was based on his belief that Rios called for the ball. Rios said he did not.
Ortiz later broke up the no-hitter with a single with two outs in the ninth inning and said after the game he believed the call in the seventh should be changed.
“I wouldn’t mind, to be honest, if the guy threw a no-hitter,” Ortiz said. “I would have been OK with it. Now I’m getting greedy.”
Ortiz laughed when he said that. But now he is seeking action from MLB.Peter Abraham can be reached at firstname.lastname@example.org. Follow him on Twitter @PeteAbe.